New Book Arrivals

I haven’t bought any new books for a while as I’ve been running out of shelf space (as usual!) and have been trying to read some of the books that I already own or borrowed from the library, but here are a few that I’ve acquired in the last couple of weeks.

The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory – I received this from Simon & Schuster for their upcoming Red Queen blog tour (16th-20th August). They also sent me the paperback version of the previous book in the trilogy, The White Queen.

Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier – I received this book as a thank you gift from Harper Collins for participating in a readers’ panel survey. I have yet to read anything by Tracy Chevalier so I’m looking forward to it.

Second Hand Heart by Catherine Ryan Hyde – I’m taking part in the Transworld Summer Reading Challenge, where bloggers can choose four titles to be sent for review during the summer. This is the first book I’ve received for the challenge – the other three I’ve requested are After You by Julie Buxbaum, If I Stay by Gayle Forman and Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld. (I think there’s still time to sign up at the Between the Lines blog – but it’s EU residents only.)

6 thoughts on “New Book Arrivals

  1. Ash July 11, 2010 / 7:23 pm

    I’ve never read anything by Phillipa Gregory so I’m looking forward to your thoughts!

    • Helen July 12, 2010 / 9:12 pm

      I haven’t read many of her books, but I enjoyed The White Queen when I read it earlier this year. I’m looking forward to the Red Queen blog tour because it will be the first time I’ve taken part in a blog tour.

  2. Iris July 13, 2010 / 11:51 am

    Funny, we picked the exact same books for the Summer Reading Challenge, only in a different order. I hope you enjoy Second Hand Heart.

    I’m not a big fan of Philippa Gregory’s novels, but I have only read one “The Virgin Queen”, so who knows this might be a better read.

    • Helen July 13, 2010 / 8:59 pm

      I’ve noticed that a few other people have chosen those same four books too. Probably because most of the other choices were thrillers.

  3. Charlie July 15, 2010 / 7:45 pm

    In reply to your reply to Iris: Yes, I think you’ve got it right – the reason I too chose the Transworld books I did was because they were the only non-thrillers. I don’t mind thrillers but there were just too many of them on the list.

    I’ve heard only good words about Remarkable Creatures. And The White Queen is on my sometime-in-the-future list.

    • Helen July 16, 2010 / 11:23 am

      I’m not a big fan of thrillers. Sometimes I enjoy them, but they’re not one of my favourite genres.

      I can’t wait to read Remarkable Creatures! Tracy Chevalier has been recommended to me a few times, but I still haven’t read any of her books.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

