Gaskell Reading Challenge

I know I said I would be signing up for as few challenges as possible in 2011, but when I came across this Elizabeth Gaskell challenge I knew I wouldn’t be able to resist it. I still haven’t read anything by Gaskell, apart from one of her short stories (The Manchester Marriage, which appeared in the book A House to Let), and I definitely want to read some of her novels next year.

The challenge is hosted by Gaskell Blog and you can sign up here. I need to read a minimum of two works between January and June 2011. Any recommendations? I’m thinking about North and South and Cranford.

12 responses

  1. Those are the two of her novels I know I’ll be reading, though this is the first time I’ve heard of this challenge.

    1. I’ll be interested to see your thoughts on them, Amanda.

  2. Thank you for joining, Helen! :) Both choices are great, North & South is one of my favorites.

    1. Thanks for hosting the challenge, Katherine. I’m glad to hear North & South is a favourite of yours!

  3. I am just finishing up “Wives and Daughters” and its wonderful. There are many great characters, and the development of the characters through the story was really well-done. This is the only novel by Gaskell that I have read, but its enchanting and I will definitely be checking out her other works next year. I have heard very good things about “Cranford” as well. I look forward to reading your posts on Gaskell!

    1. Maybe I’ll have time to read Wives and Daughters next year too. It sounds wonderful!

  4. Definitely North and South if you haven’t read it yet. Behold my endless advocacy of that book. I did not know about this challenge, but this is absolutely one I cannot not do. I love Gaskell.

    1. I’ve heard so many good things about North and South I know I really need to read it as soon as possible. That’s the first one on my list, followed by Cranford and hopefully some of her other work if I enjoy those two!

  5. I have North and South and plan to read it, but when is the question because of which I won’t join the challenge! Like you I have read short story by her and not any novel.

    1. Maybe the year after next then, Veens!

  6. I just loved Wives & Daughters. It’s long but I found it to be a fast read. I’ve also read Cranford and some of the related stories like My Lady Ludlow. I’m hoping to read more of the Gaskell on my to-read shelf so I may join you in this challenge!

    1. You’re the second to mention Wives and Daughters so I’ll definitely try to make time for that one too!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 665 other followers

