The Virgin Blue by Tracy Chevalier

The Virgin Blue was Tracy Chevalier’s debut novel, first published in 1997. The only other book I’ve read by Chevalier is her most recent one, Remarkable Creatures, but I found both the writing style and atmosphere of this one entirely different.

The Virgin Blue follows two separate storylines, one from the present and one from the past, which eventually become woven together. In the modern day story, we meet Ella Turner who leaves her home in California and moves to the small French village of Lisle-sur-Tarn when her husband is offered a new job in France. Ella has trouble fitting into her new community – the local people are hostile and unwelcoming, and only the librarian Jean-Paul makes any attempt at friendship. As she begins to dig deeper into her family history, Ella’s hair begins to turn gradually red and, haunted by dreams of a brilliant blue, she starts to become aware of the parallels between her own life and that of her 16th century ancestor, a girl called Isabelle.

Isabelle de Moulin was a young peasant girl, known as La Rousse in reference to her red hair, who married Etienne Tournier, a man from a Huguenot family. With her red hair, her skills as a midwife and her love of the Virgin Mary and the colour blue, Isabelle is an object of suspicion. When the Tourniers find themselves under threat from their neighbouring Catholics, they are forced to flee France for Geneva in Switzerland, where they can follow their religion in freedom. It’s Isabelle’s tragic story that forms the second thread in The Virgin Blue.

I thought the alternating time periods in this book were handled well and they were each written in a distinctive style so that there could be no confusion. The Isabelle chapters had a dreamlike feel, almost like reading a fairytale. These chapters were also very sad and dark. Poor Isabelle was surrounded by cruel, vindictive people and seemed to have very little happiness in her life. Her story unfolded very slowly, being interspersed with Ella’s, and from the beginning there was always a sense of foreboding, a feeling that something bad was going to happen to Isabelle or her children.

I loved the setting of rural France, with its beautiful countryside and picturesque villages. Chevalier gives just enough detail to bring the landscape to life, without weighing the story down with too much description. The one thing that let this novel down for me was the characters. With the possible exception of Jean-Paul none of them felt quite real to me. I thought Rick, Ella’s husband, was especially bland and wooden, to the point where I didn’t even care what happened to him. The characters in the 16th century storyline never really came to life for me either.

So The Virgin Blue, for me, was an enjoyable but forgettable book. Despite the weak characters, I was able to become absorbed in the story while I was reading it but by the next day it was already fading from my mind. Having read Chevalier’s oldest book and her newest I’m now looking forward to reading the ones in between!

8 responses

  1. I have read all bar one of Chevaliers books and although I really enjoyed this one it wouldn’t be one of my favourites.

    Try The Girl with the Pearl Earring – that was my first book of hers and remains my favourite.

    1. I’ve been meaning to read The Girl with the Pearl Earring for ages but haven’t got round to it yet. I’ll try to make that the next Chevalier book I read!

  2. Girl with a Pearl is one of my favorite books (and a great movie adaptation!) though I’ve never been able to get into any of her other works. I tried the one about the tapestries and it just didn’t do anything for me. Remarkable Creatures does look interesting though.

    1. I liked Remarkable Creatures better than this one. This one wasn’t bad, it just didn’t make a big impression on me.

  3. This was my first Tracy Chevalier read and the one which encouraged me to read all her other books – yes, I can’t remember too much of the storyline/characters now but I do remember really enjoying it! If I remember correctly, Girl with A Pearl Earring was my next read by this author and it was very different again, very understated but beautifully written.

    1. I really enjoyed the story and the setting – it was just the characters that I found weak. I’m looking forward to Girl with a Pearl Earring as you’re the third to recommend it here!

  4. I enjoyed this more than most of her other books. ‘The Girl with the Pearl Earring’ is certainly a fine piece of work, but in general I find her output very patchy. I would approach the others with an open mind in case you’re disappointed.

    1. Thanks for the warning, Annie. I’ll definitely read Girl with a Pearl Earring at some point but won’t expect too much from the others and hopefully I’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 665 other followers

