Remember These? Books beginning with ‘B’

Remember These? is a series of posts looking at some of the books I recorded in my old reading diary. The diary spanned my teenage years to my early twenties, so most of the books mentioned below will have been read during the 1990s and although I’ve included my original ratings, these do not necessarily reflect what I would feel about the books if I read them again today!

I gave the books ratings out of 5. The symbol * means I loved the book. X means I didn’t finish it.

Books beginning with ‘B’

Here are a selection of the books that appeared on the ‘B’ page of my notebook.

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell (5/5*)
This was one of my childhood favourites, but is a classic that can be enjoyed by adults too. If you’ve never read it, it’s told through the eyes of a horse called Black Beauty and highlights the way horses can suffer through the cruel treatment of their owners. Needless to say, this is yet another children’s book that makes me cry! The edition I have is a hardback with beautiful colour illustrations – sorry about the poor quality photo, but I couldn’t find the cover of this particular edition online anywhere.

Bloodstream by Tess Gerritsen (5/5)
It’s funny because I’ve read a few reviews of Tess Gerritsen books recently and didn’t take much notice of them, thinking that they didn’t sound like my type of books. In fact, I would have sworn that I had never even read one. Well, obviously I was wrong. I have read one and apparently I loved it!

Born of the Sun by Gillian Cross (5/5)
Gillian Cross is a British author best known for her children’s series, The Demon Headmaster. She also wrote this book, which I couldn’t remember at all until I read the synopsis: “For years, Paula and her father have dreamed and talked about trying to find the lost city of Atahualpa. And now, without warning, Paula is taken out of school and finds her dream come true…But as they descend towards the jungle, Paula senses that all is not quite as it should be. Why is her father so moody and impatient? And why does he insist that the expedition is being shadowed by sinister enemies?”

Borderliners by Peter Hoeg (4/5)
Peter Hoeg is best known for the thriller Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow. After reading Miss Smilla, I remember looking for more of Hoeg’s books and came across this one in the library. Although I appear to have enjoyed this book at the time, I can’t remember much about it now except that it was about a group of students at a private school in Denmark who discover that they’re being used as part of a social experiment.

The Ballad of Frankie Silver by Sharyn McCrumb (4/5)
Sharyn McCrumb wrote several novels that deal with Appalachian history and folklore. I remember reading this one, The Hangman’s Beautiful Daughter and She Walks These Hills, and I enjoyed all of them. The Ballad of Frankie Silver takes as its starting point two murders separated by more than a century and looks at the ways in which the justice system has changed over the years.

Bloody Roses by Natasha Cooper (3/5)
This was one of a series of murder mystery books featuring the detective Willow King who leads a double life as both a civil servant and a romantic novelist. It seems that I used to read a lot of crime fiction and murder mysteries, which is interesting because they’re not genres that I read very much at all anymore.

The BFG by Roald Dahl (3/5)
I think I probably read all of Roald Dahl’s children’s books, most of them more than once. This one was never one of my favourites though and although I can remember some of the characters (Sophie, the ‘Big Friendly Giant’, the other evil giants) I can’t really remember the plot.

Boy by Roald Dahl (3/5)
This is an autobiographical work by Roald Dahl, in which he shares stories about his childhood years. It’s written in the same lively, humourous style as his fiction.

Bright Island by Mabel L Robinson (X)
I’m intrigued by this one because I don’t remember it at all, not even the title. I didn’t like it enough to even finish it and yet it apparently won a Newbery Honor in 1938. Can anyone remind me what it was about?

Do you remember reading any of the books mentioned above?

Coming soon… Remember These? Books Beginning with ‘C’.

5 thoughts on “Remember These? Books beginning with ‘B’

  1. The Book Whisperer says:

    I love these posts!

    I never read Black Beauty as a child (don’t know why but it passed me by) but I picked up a copy about 2 years ago and read it for the first time and LOVED it! It made me cry too.

    I have never read any of Tess Gerritsens books even though I think that I would probably love them (I do love my crime fiction). Funny how you loved that one, despite thinking they’re not for you.

    I haven’t heard of Borderliners but it sounds really interesting! I must check this out on Amazon.

    Can’t wait for the C’s. I wish I had kept a record of books I read as a child and teenager etc – I’d love to remember the books I read and what I thought of them.

    • Helen says:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the posts! And yes, I was surprised to see a Tess Gerritsen book with a five star rating in my journal! Maybe I should try another one sometime.

  2. Karenlibrarian says:

    I loved Roald Dahl as a child and still do — now my daughters love him also, which is such a hoot. I hadn’t read Boy or BFG until I was an adult, and I like them both though not nearly as much as my favorite, Danny, the Champion of the World (in which the BFG makes his first appearance). It’s the only one of Dahl’s books without magic but I love the relationship between Danny and his father. I think it’s especially poignant since Dahl lost his own father at a very young age.

    • Helen says:

      I used to be a big Roald Dahl fan, but haven’t read any of his books for years. Danny, the Champion of the World was a great book – I seem to remember there was a film of that one too.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

