February Reading Summary

I had another good reading month in February. I read thirteen books and enjoyed most of them, although a few were slightly disappointing.

February Stats:

Books read: 13
New-to-me authors: 10
Male to female author ratio: 2:11
Publication dates: 19th century – 1; 20th century – 3; 21st century – 9
Countries visited in my reading: England, USA, Guernsey, Scotland, Spain, Egypt, France

~

Favourite books read in February:

South Riding by Winifred Holtby
I loved this – and managed to finish it just in time for the start of the new BBC adaptation!
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
I realise I’m one of the last people in the world to read this but at least I’ve read it now and can see why so many people seem to love it so much!
Little Boy Lost by Marghanita Laski
One of the most emotional books I’ve read for a long time.

~

Other books read in February:

We Had It So Good by Linda Grant
Sacrifice by S.J. Bolton
By Fire, By Water by Mitchell James Kaplan
The Moorland Cottage by Elizabeth Gaskell
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer
Mr Chartwell by Rebecca Hunt
The News Where You Are by Catherine O’Flynn
Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively
The Postmistress by Sarah Blake
The Anatomy of Ghosts by Andrew Taylor

As you can see, my reading rate has overtaken my blogging rate so I still have a lot of February books to review. I’d like to catch up with these over the next couple of weeks before I get much further behind.

~

Challenge progress:

Victorian Literature Challenge: 3/15
Gaskell Reading Challenge: 1/2
Historical Fiction Challenge: 5/20

~

Other reading/blogging activities in February:

This past weekend was Persephone Reading Weekend, as many of you will know. Little Boy Lost was the only Persephone I had time to read and review this weekend, but I enjoyed reading everyone else’s posts. I was even lucky enough to win a copy of Family Roundabout by Richmal Crompton in one of the giveaways!
I also took part in a group read of Elizabeth Gaskell’s The Moorland Cottage in February. This was the first of Gaskell’s works I’ve read (apart from a short story) and I’m looking forward to reading one of her other books soon.

In February I read a lot more contemporary/21st century books than I normally do. In March I’m hoping to have more of a balance between classics and newer books. Also in March I’m planning to take part in Irish Short Story Week, which will be hosted by Mel of The Reading Life from 14-20 March. If you’d like to participate too, there are plenty of classic short stories by Irish authors available online – so no need to buy any new books!

How was your February?

12 thoughts on “February Reading Summary

    • Helen says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed South Riding too. I really loved it. The Postmistress is probably the most disappointing book I’ve read this year though.

  1. Jo says:

    I look forward to seeing your reviews. I loved The Help and cannot wait to see how it transfers onto the big screen. I have yet to read Mr Chartwell and The Postmistress. I adore the Guersney Literary Potato Society

    Well done on 13 books – where do you find the time?

    • Helen says:

      I don’t usually read this many books in a month – I put it down to spending more time in the house in the winter and also now that I’ve started taking my e-reader to work with me I get through more books that way.

  2. Karenlibrarian says:

    Thirteen books, impressive! Oddly enough, I also read Little Boy Lost last weekend (amazing); I checked out The Help this week for my April book discussion group (a reread); and I won a copy of South Riding in a Virago giveaway! I’m patiently awaiting its arrival from across the Atlantic and I want to read it before the series airs here in May.

  3. Annie says:

    Some months just don’t come up to expectations. In my defence I had three full scale lectures to prepare on subjects that were completely new to me and I have done a lot of reading for those, but my fiction reading has been almost non-existent and I hate that.

  4. Sue says:

    I had a good reading month too. Really enjoyed ‘South Riding’ but it was a bit ‘preachy’ at times. I got increasingly frustrated with the number of characters with their half stories but at least she did tell you what happened to them by the end! Like you, Helen, my reading was mainly 21 century this month. I think my favourite was ‘This Perfect World’ by Suzanne Bugler. It was certainly a thought provoking read. I too enjoy your reviews.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Sue. I agree that some parts of South Riding could be a bit preachy, but overall I really loved the book. I’m glad you had a good month too.

  5. Melissa Romo says:

    I read Geurnsey Literary and was disappointed. I couldn’t figure out why, I just didn’t care. I also was beset by my Atlanta family about how “you absolutely MUST read ‘The Help’!”, so I guess I will. I love your monthly recap. It always feels good to see how much we accomplish while we’re in those pages, right? I especially like your “countries visited” list.

    • Helen says:

      Thanks, Melissa. I find it interesting to list all the different countries I’ve been reading about. The Help was great – I hope you decide to read it sometime!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

