March Reading Summary

I was intending to post my March Reading Summary yesterday but the day turned out to be busier than expected, which is why I’m posting this later than planned!

March was another good month. I read seven books by men and nine by women – all but four were new authors for me. I read books set in France, England, Spain, Italy, USA, Sweden and the former Czechoslovakia (only one was a translation, though). And unfortunately I’ve only had time to post my thoughts on five of them so far, which means another month of trying to catch up!

Favourite books read in March:

After years of thinking I wouldn’t like Life of Pi, I’ve read it at last – and loved it! I also loved Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome and in And Then There Were None I’ve finally found an Agatha Christie book that I really enjoyed.

Other books read in March:

Ann Veronica by H.G. Wells
Mistress of the Art of Death by Ariana Franklin
Far to Go by Alison Pick
A House of Pomegranates by Oscar Wilde
Echoes from the Dead by Johan Theorin
The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag by Alan Bradley
The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher by Kate Summerscale
Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton
Samuel Pepys: The Unequalled Self by Claire Tomalin
The Creation of Eve by Lynn Cullen
The Lost Book of Salem by Katherine Howe
13, rue Therese by Elena Mauli Shapiro
The Island of Doctor Moreau by H.G. Wells

As I mentioned earlier, I still have a lot of these books to review, although I do have most of them drafted and ready to post soon. I might have to try some of those multi-book posts that I’ve seen other bloggers use so effectively!

Other reading/blogging events:
During the week of 14-20 March, I took part in the Irish Short Story Week which was hosted by Mel U of The Reading Life. The story I chose to read was Laura Silver Bell by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu. Although I didn’t think it was a fantastic story, it was still enjoyable and good enough to make me want to try some more of Le Fanu’s work soon.

How was your March? What are you looking forward to reading in April?

10 thoughts on “March Reading Summary

  1. Jo says:

    What a good collection of reads for March. I look forward to your reviews, however you do them.

    I have the Alan Bradley one on my shelf to read and I will be interested to read your review on The Suspicions of Mr Whicher as it is to be made or been made into a TV programme for ITV.

    Glad to know you have found a Christie you liked.

    Not sure what I have planned for April reading, trying to read My Dear I wanted to Tell You at the moment and struggling.

  2. The Book Whisperer says:

    Hurray! You lovee Life of Pi!! Can’t wait to read your review. And the Christie book is fantastic too. I also really enjoyed The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher by Kate Summerscale and
    Ethan Frome by Edith Wharton so curious to see your reviews on those too.

    Great reading month, Helen!

  3. Brenna says:

    It sounds like you had a great March! I’m looking forward to your review of 13, rue Therese. I haven’t heard too much about the book but it sounds very interesting.

  4. Sue says:

    Love your reviews – so just don’t abandon them altogether!! Sorry but I hated The ‘Life of Pi’! Found it very boring. This month I didn’t enjoy ‘Great House’ by Nicola Krauss but finally managed to read Willa Cather’s ‘My Antonia’ which was so beautiful in its descriptions. Most of the early American stories I have read have been Edith Wharton and the different social strata. Also managed my first Persephone novel, ‘To Bed with Grand music’ – what a brave lady to fly in the face of convention. Looking forward to reading her ones you have been talking about in April. Will also be reading ‘The Crimson Petal and the White ‘(which I have had on order long before the TV adaptation was advertised!) by Michel Faber. It is so long it might be the only one I read in April!

    • Helen says:

      Life of Pi really seems to divide opinions, which is why I’ve been hesitant about reading it! I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like Great House as I’m planning to read it soon. And I hope you enjoy The Crimson Petal and the White – I’ve been wanting to read that for years but have never got round to it.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

