June Reading Summary

I had mixed feelings about my June reading – there were some books that I loved and others that I didn’t enjoy very much at all. I read 13 books and 7 were by authors who were new to me. My reading took me to Sweden, England, Sierra Leone, America and Italy. As usual I haven’t had time to post my thoughts on all of these books yet, so if there are any you’re particularly interested in please let me know and I’ll try to make those reviews a priority.

Favourite books read in June

I enjoyed Dr Thorne by Anthony Trollope as much as the other two Trollope books I’ve read and I’m now really looking forward to Framley Parsonage, the next in the Barsetshire series. On Wednesday I explained why I loved Innocent Traitor by Alison Weir – definitely one of my favourite books of the month! And I finished The Darkest Room by Johan Theorin just in time for it to be included in my June summary. Hopefully I’ll be posting my review of this wonderful Scandinavian crime novel within the next few days.

Other books read in June

The Map of Time by Felix Palma
Rule Britannia by Daphne du Maurier
Cousin Kate by Georgette Heyer
The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna
Daphne by Justine Picardie
A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
The Flight of the Falcon by Daphne du Maurier
Why Didn’t They Ask Evans? by Agatha Christie
The Small Hand by Susan Hill
Grace Williams Says It Loud by Emma Henderson

Did you read any great books in June? What are you looking forward to reading in July?

5 thoughts on “June Reading Summary

  1. everybookandcranny says:

    I’ve started collecting Trollope’s books even though I haven’t read anything by him yet. I guess I’ve convinced myself that I’ll love him due to my love for Hardy and other Victorian writers. I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying the Barsetshire books as most of the books I’ve picked up are from that series. I just added Framley Parsonage to my small collection last month.

    • Helen says:

      I hope you like Trollope when you get round to reading his books. So far I’ve read the first three Barsetshire novels and loved them all, particularly Barchester Towers. I think if you like other Victorian writers there’s a good chance you’ll love Trollope too.

  2. Jo says:

    I would be interested to hear what you thought of Daphne and Why didn’t they ask Evans? I have this to read but also the tv programme recorded to watch as well. My mum hated it and text me to say so, which is most unlike my mum!

    I loved Daphne, gave me a real new love for Du Maurier.

    A good month’s reading.

    • Helen says:

      I loved Why Didn’t They Ask Evans, though I haven’t seen the TV version yet. I enjoyed Daphne too, which is not surprising since Daphne du Maurier and the Brontes are some of my favourite authors!

  3. Sue says:

    I didn’t manage to read a lot in June but did enjoy Isa and May by Margaret Forster and Invitation to the Waltz by Rosamond Lehmann. I want to read the sequels to the Lehmann books – beautifully written. Didn’t particularly enjoy The Tiger’s Wife and am going to give up now on Gabrial Garcia Marquez. Perhaps it wasn’t a got idea to follow Wife with one of his!! Looking forward to The Novel in the Viola and Last Man in the Tower (Adiga) as I loved White Tiger.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

