August Reading Summary

For me August was the month when I finally started to catch up with all those outstanding reviews! I read eleven books and have posted my thoughts on ten of them. I know I still have a few books to write about from July, but at least I didn’t get any further behind!

Here are three of my favourite books read in August:

I read two books by Jude Morgan in August. I loved them both but The Taste of Sorrow, a novel about the Brontës, interested me slightly more than Passion, which is about the Romantic Poets. The House by the Sea was the first book I’ve read by Santa Montefiore and was a perfect summer read. And The Sandalwood Tree by Elle Newmark was my first choice for the Transworld Book Group Reading Challenge. It’s a great historical fiction novel set in India, with some beautiful and vivid descriptions of the country.

Other books read:

Possession by A.S. Byatt
When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman
Full Dark House by Christopher Fowler
Winter King: The Dawn of Tudor England by Thomas Penn
Princes in the Land by Joanna Cannan
The Parasites by Daphne du Maurier
On Canaan’s Side by Sebastian Barry (Review coming soon)

I hope you all had a great August and have some good books planned for September. Now that summer is coming to an end I’m looking forward to some atmospheric, autumnal reading for the R.I.P. Challenge!

6 thoughts on “August Reading Summary

    • Helen says:

      I had been putting off reading Possession for such a long time because I thought it would be a difficult book to read, but it was actually much more readable than I’d expected. I really enjoyed it and I hope you do too!

  1. Jo says:

    A good read. I nearly had that Santa Montefiore book in my hand in the library turned round to talk to my mum – and someone else picked it up off the shelf! Mmmmm

    Like me you read a good selection of books which I think makes for a great reading taste.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

