September Reading Summary

September was a good month for me – I read twelve books and enjoyed all but one of them. Choosing my favourites wasn’t easy, but I think these were the four that really stood out:

The American Boy by Andrew Taylor – 19th century setting, gothic atmosphere, mystery and adventure, even Edgar Allan Poe. This book was perfect for me!
Florence and Giles by John Harding – A great gothic story inspired by The Turn of the Screw.
Awakening by S.J. Bolton – The second book I’ve read by S.J. Bolton and I’ve loved both. I’m looking forward to reading her other two books soon.
The Ghost Writer by John Harwood – I was very impressed by this book, especially considering I had never even heard of it until I picked it up in the library. I’ll be posting my thoughts on this one soon.

Other books read in September

The Obscure Logic of the Heart by Priya Basil
Framley Parsonage by Anthony Trollope
Theodora by Stella Duffy
Devil Water by Anya Seton
The Last Dickens by Matthew Pearl
The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory
Ragnarok: the End of the Gods by A.S. Byatt (thoughts coming soon)
Uncle Silas by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu (thoughts coming soon)

Although I limited myself to picking four favourites this month, I did enjoy all of these books with the exception of The Last Dickens, which was slightly disappointing.

Plans for October


This month Simon of Savidge Reads and Polly of Novel Insights are celebrating the work of one of my favourite authors, Daphne du Maurier, with a “Discovering Daphne” event. I managed to find a copy of The Loving Spirit at the library this morning and will hopefully be starting it this week.


I’ve also signed up for this month’s Classics Circuit tour, which has a gothic literature theme this time. I’m reading A Sicilian Romance by Ann Radcliffe for the tour and will be posting on October 25th.

What else am I reading this month? Well, I’m halfway through The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern at the moment. I’ve been seeing this one mentioned everywhere and couldn’t resist it any longer! I also need to read my next book for the Transworld challenge, The Water Room by Christopher Fowler.

Did you have a good September? What are you reading in October?

8 thoughts on “September Reading Summary

  1. Erin says:

    It looks like you got through a lot of good stuff and have some exciting events lined up for October! I had a good September — can’t complain 🙂 I’m looking forward to October. I may not be able to resist the call of The Night Circus for much longer, or I’ll be the only person left who hasn’t read it!!

  2. Jo says:

    A good month! I have the last Transworld Challenge book to read, it arrived this week. I am in the middle of The Weird Sisters which I am loving.

    I am going to try and read My Cousin Rachel so I am immersed in all things Daphne this month and then if time allows do a reread of Rebecca, but there are so many books calling to me at the moment.

  3. Anbolyn says:

    Wow, what a great month of reading you had! I’ll be on the Classics Circuit also, posting on Oct. 26. I also want to read a Cormac McCarthy book I’ve been working on and The Hare with Amber Eyes.

    • Helen says:

      I’d be interested to know what you think of The Hare with Amber Eyes as I’ve been trying to decide if I want to read it or not. I’ll look forward to your Classics Circuit post too!

  4. Sue says:

    You certainly had a good month – it was lovely to be reminded of Anya Seton. I too read some fantastic books. My favourites were The Absolutionist by John Boyne (WW1- a man decides he no longer wants to fight), Alone in Berlin – Hans Fallada (WW2 – how the death of their son changes an ‘ordinary’ couple) and 22 Britannia Road by Amanda Hodgkinson. In October I will read We Need to Talk about Kevin and The Kite Runner which have been on my TBR shelf forever!

    • Helen says:

      I read Alone in Berlin in January and it’s still one of my favourite books of the year. It’s good to see someone else mention it! I liked The Kite Runner too – I hope you enjoy it!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

