The Girl on the Cliff by Lucinda Riley

I read this book just after Christmas but it’s been one of those reviews that I’ve found difficult to write. Not because I didn’t enjoy the book, but because it was a complex story and hard to summarise or to write about without giving too much away.

The Girl on the Cliff begins in the present day and follows Grania Ryan, who has returned to her parents’ home in Ireland after having problems in her relationship with her boyfriend, Matt, in New York. One day Grania meets an eight-year-old girl, Aurora, standing on the edge of a cliff. As she gets to know the girl and her father better, Grania begins to discover how Aurora’s family, the Lisles, are connected with her own family, the Ryans.

Grania’s mother, Kathleen, is worried when she hears about her daughter’s new friends. Kathleen knows what problems the Lisles have caused for the Ryans in the past and is afraid of history repeating itself. As we go back in time, first to wartime London and then to one summer in 1970, we gradually learn the truth about the two families and why Kathleen has come to see the Lisles as enemies.

As we move through the generations, we meet lots of different characters but the most memorable is Aurora. In many ways Aurora seems much older than eight, though in others she still behaves like the child she is. Some short sections narrated by Aurora herself are interspersed with the main story, which I thought was very effective. There’s something almost otherworldly about her narration and at times I found myself wondering whether she was supposed to be a real child or some kind of ghost or fairy!

This is yet another of those novels with multiple time periods that I’ve been reading so many of recently, but this book is an example of how this structure can work very well – I found all the threads of the story equally interesting and cared about the characters in each one. So many things happen throughout the pages of this novel and I’ve only mentioned a few of them here – each time period contains its own set of surprises and secrets and I wouldn’t want to spoil anything for any future readers! I will say that the 1970s section was particularly moving and took the story in a direction I hadn’t expected at all. But whether I was reading about London in World War I or World War II, a farmhouse in rural Ireland or Grania and Matt’s fashionable loft apartment in New York, every time and location came to life.

The book wasn’t perfect – there were a few plot developments towards the end that I found difficult to believe and some parts of the story were too predictable – but there were plenty of surprising twists that I didn’t see coming and enough suspense to keep me turning the pages to see what would happen next. After enjoying this one so much, I’ll be looking out for Lucinda Riley’s next book and would also like to go back and read her previous one, Hothouse Flower.

15 thoughts on “The Girl on the Cliff by Lucinda Riley

    • Helen says:

      I love historical fiction and my problem with this type of book is that I usually enjoy the historical sections much more than the contemporary ones!

  1. Iris says:

    This sounds interesting. I had never heard of Lucinda Riley before, so thanks! I somehow get the feeling from your post & plot summary that this book might work best for me during vacations, either winter or summer. I don’t know why, just sounds like it 🙂

  2. FleurFisher says:

    I have to agree. Not quite perfect, but there were so many things I loved. And I’ve picked up a copy of Hothouse Flower after reading this one,

  3. Jo says:

    This is a great book and I admit I found it difficult to review because so much is packed into it.

    You will enjoy Hothouse Flower, and I think you will see how the author has progressed with this book her second novel. I am really looking forward to her third.

    Lucinda is a lovely lady and a lot of ths book is ‘her’ but without being so obvious.

  4. Anbolyn says:

    I’m glad to see an example of a book that uses the multiple time period thing effectively. This sounds really fascinating – I’m dying to know what the story of Aurora is. You have me intrigued!

  5. Teresa says:

    This wouldn’t rank among my favourites in the dual time-frame category. Yes, I liked it and it kept me fairly interested but I felt she really over-did the Oirishness of the characters with very stilted dialogue which really didn’t ring true for me – but then I’m Irish so maybe it seemed more obvious to me. I also think a longer book could have developed the characters and themes a bit more.

    • Helen says:

      I think the reason this book worked so well for me is that I tend to prefer books that spend a long time in each period before moving to the next. I’m reading another book at the moment where the story keeps switching time periods after every four or five pages, and I’m finding it slightly confusing!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

