January Reading Summary

February already and time for my first monthly reading summary of the year!


I discovered two new mystery series in January, both of which I would like to continue with (new to me, that is – they’ve both been around for a long time and I’ve come to them very late!) The first is Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell series; the second is Elizabeth Peters’ Amelia Peabody series. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and Crocodile on the Sandbank were two of my favourite books of the month.


I made some progress with all of the challenges I’m participating in. For the Classics Challenge and the Victorian Challenge, I read Charlotte Brontë’s The Professor. For the Historical Fiction Challenge, I read Treason by Meredith Whitford and for War through the Generations, I read War Horse by Michael Morpurgo. And our first play for Reading Shakespeare – A Play a Month was A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I still need to post my thoughts on that one.

There were a few other books I read in January that I also haven’t had time to write about yet. I read Mansfield Park by Jane Austen for the third time and enjoyed it much more this time round than I did on my previous reads. It’s been a long time since I read Pride and Prejudice and Emma, so I’m hoping to re-read both of those soon too (I’m particularly looking forward to trying Emma again, as it’s the only Austen novel I haven’t liked and I’m curious to see if I’ll still feel the same way about it). I also read I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith, one of those books I somehow missed out on when I was younger but I’m glad to have finally read it!

I was given the chance to read Russian Winter by Daphne Kalotay as part of a UK blog tour – you’ll be able to see what I thought of it on Monday. The last book I read in January was The Last Summer by Judith Kinghorn, a beautifully written story set around the time of the First World War. And I also made a start on Samuel Richardson’s Clarissa for a year-long group read.

How was your January?

6 thoughts on “January Reading Summary

  1. jessicabookworm says:

    Well done you read so many and varied books in January. I’d really like to try out both the crime series you mentioned. And good luck with re-reading Austen. I still have quite a few books of her’s to read. Hope you like Emma more second time round as its actually one of my favourites!

    I managed to read four books and started two others in January. I’m actually surprised I managed that many as it was a very busy month socially for me. My round up post will be up on Sunday.

  2. Jo says:

    Lots of lovely books read. I am keeping an eye out for The BeeKeepers apprentice as I think I will enjoy that.

    Now I have read Jane Eyre, I need to decide what classic to read next.

    • Helen says:

      I loved The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and would definitely recommend you try it. I must remember to read the second one in the series soon – I seem to have a habit of starting a series and then forgetting about it.

      I’ll look forward to seeing which classic you choose next!

  3. Sue says:

    I too had a good reading month! WW1 books were My Dear I Wanted to Tell You – Louisa Young, which was amazing and Jo Barker’s, The Picture Book. I enjoyed The Drowning Pool by Syd Moore set in a Thames village not too far away, a split time frame story. A similar topic but set in 15c Connecticut, The witch of Blackbird Pool – Elizabeth George Sphere. Am I glad I wasn’t born then! Looking forward to Liz Shakespeare’s, The Turning of the Tide about a girl from the Bideford workhouse,and Gillespie and I and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet have both finally arrived from the library.

    • Helen says:

      I’ll have to look out for the Louisa Young book. I haven’t heard much about that one. I hope you enjoy Gillespie and I and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet – two of my favourites from last year!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

