March Reading Summary

My two favourite books from March were definitely the two Dorothy Dunnett books I read: Queens’ Play and The Disorderly Knights. I can’t tell you how much I’m loving this series – I finished Pawn in Frankincense today and am looking forward to starting The Ringed Castle!

March was a good month for historical fiction – as well as the two books I just mentioned, I also loved The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye (a crime novel set in 1840s New York) and The Crown by Nancy Bilyeau (a historical thriller set in Tudor England). However, I was disappointed by The Glovemaker by Stacia Brown, the story of a woman accused of murder in Oliver Cromwell’s London.

The Light Between Oceans, M.L. Stedman’s debut novel, was another book that I really enjoyed, and Edward Hogan’s The Hunger Trace was probably my most surprising read of the month – not something I would usually choose to read but I quickly became absorbed in the lives of all three main characters.

I also read Three Men on the Bummel, the sequel to Jerome K. Jerome’s classic Three Men in a Boat, and although it wasn’t as hilarious as its predecessor it was still fun to read.

The only book I read in March that I still haven’t written about is Claire Tomalin’s Dickens biography, Charles Dickens: A Life. I actually started reading it in the middle of January – it always seems to take me a long time to finish non-fiction books! And I finally started to make some progress with Samuel Richardson’s Clarissa, which I’m reading as part of a group read during the whole of 2012.

Did you read any good books in March? What are you planning to read in April?

8 thoughts on “March Reading Summary”

  1. I so want to read the Dorothy Dunnett series after reading your enthusiastic reviews of them. Maybe when I finish some of my challenges…. I hope to finish Anna Karenina in April and start Vanity Fair. My favorite book of March was Olive Kitteridge, which I plan to write about this week.

    1. Good luck with finishing Anna Karenina! I would like to read Vanity Fair too, but I think it will have to wait until later in the year.

  2. Sounds like you had a pretty fab reading month back in March. I so want to read The Light Between Oceans 🙂

    As for my March is was all over the place a bit. Had one amazing read which was Stuart: A Life Backwards by Alexander Masters, then I had two good reads, and then one not so good read. As for this month haven’t got any plans just see how my mood takes me.

    My March: http://thebookwormchronicles.wordpress.com/2012/04/01/march-reading-reflection/

    1. I hope you get the chance to read The Light Between Oceans. It was a great book, just not as good as some of the others I read in March.

  3. Real mix of books. I must be back into my historical fiction, reading off to see Alison Weir Wednesday and here about her new novel. Cannot wait.

  4. You’ve finished Pawn! I’m looking forward to your review. I remember that when I was getting close to the end of that book (almost reaching the chess game) I arranged my reading corner so as not to be disturbed for hours: Friday late-night, boyfriend went to be in bed, a couple of cans of Coke Light within easy read, pillows aligned in the couch just right. I just forgot the Kleenexes…

    1. My review of Pawn should be up in the next few days. I still find it painful to think about the chess game…I agree it’s definitely a scene you need to read on your own with no disturbances!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

