June Reading Summary

The first book I finished in June was one of my favourites of the month, The Sultan’s Wife by Jane Johnson, the story of a slave at the court of Sultan Moulay Ismail in 17th century Morocco. I loved the setting and was fascinated by what I learned about life during the Sultan’s reign.

Moving back in time to 15th century England, The Adventures of Alianore Audley by Brian Wainwright is a parody of the Wars of the Roses narrated by a young woman who works as a spy for Edward IV and Richard III. And I also read two more historical fiction novels which I haven’t had time to write about yet. The first, Lion of Alnwick by Carol Wensby-Scott, is set in the 14th century and is the first in a trilogy telling the story of the Percys, one of the most powerful families in the north of England. The other book, The Secret Keeper: A Novel of Kateryn Parr, is a Tudor court novel by Sandra Byrd told from the perspective of Juliana St John, a lady-in-waiting to Henry VIII’s sixth wife.

Another book I read in June was The Bull of Mithros, the latest in Anne Zouroudi’s series of Greek Detective mysteries. I haven’t read any of the previous novels in the series but would like to read them at some point. I also enjoyed Every Secret Thing by Susanna Kearsley, a suspense novel in which a journalist travels to Portugal to investigate a World War II murder mystery.

The only book I was slightly disappointed by was The Map of Lost Memories by Kim Fay. I liked the Cambodian setting but found the characters difficult to identify with. And finally, I read Wonder Girls by Catherine Jones – I should be posting my thoughts on that one in the next few days.

So, June was a good month for me overall as I enjoyed most of the books I read. I’m hoping July will be even better – and I’m also hoping the weather might start to improve soon! June has been so wet and miserable here, with the worst day being last Thursday when we had one of the most dramatic thunderstorms I’ve ever seen. So many of the roads were flooded that it took me nearly four hours to drive home from work, a journey that usually takes twenty minutes!

How was June for you?

5 thoughts on “June Reading Summary

  1. Jo says:

    The weather is getting quite boring. Sorry about the dreadful drive home, makes us stalwart British I think!

    A good reading month for you, lots of historical fiction! I do miss that I must read more of it this month. Plenty of suggestions from your good self.

  2. jessicabookworm says:

    Oh my wasn’t it a storm and a half on Thursday! I didn’t start work till the afternoon and I really didn’t want to leave the house! Unfortunately all this stormy weather plays havoc with my sinuses in which case I’m pretty pleased I managed to finish four books. Looks like you had a great reading month though.

  3. nerdybookreviews says:

    Ohhh, I have The Sultan’s Wife to read, I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed it, that’s very exciting to know! 🙂

    I’ll have to definitely move that up near the top of my to-read pile from the library. It certainly sounded like a good book and you’re the first person I’ve heard of reading it.

  4. Charlie says:

    And suddenly June seems to have been a lot longer than first thought – it feels ages since you reviewed The Sultan’s Wife! It does sound like a good reading month for you, and wow to the amount of historical fiction. Yesterday I heard that a weather girl has pronounced this June the wettest June in the last century. Hopefully things can only get better.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

