The Ivy Tree by Mary Stewart

Mary Stewart was a new discovery for me last year and since then I’ve been enjoying slowly working my way through her novels. I was looking forward to reading this one, The Ivy Tree, as I’ve seen it described as one of her best.

The Ivy Tree begins on a warm, sunny day when Mary Grey, who has recently moved from Canada to the north east of England, is walking in the countryside near Hadrian’s Wall. Suddenly she is approached by an Irishman who has mistaken her for his cousin Annabel who had disappeared eight years earlier. The man’s name is Connor Winslow (known as Con), the great-nephew of Matthew Winslow, owner of the estate of Whitescar. With Annabel believed to be dead, Matthew Winslow is intending to leave his fortune to his other granddaughter Julie – but Con thinks that he should be the rightful heir and he wants Mary Grey to help him claim the inheritance.

Although Mary explains to Con that he has made a mistake and she is not his cousin, he persuades her to impersonate Annabel as part of a scheme to enable him to inherit his great-uncle’s estate. And so Mary comes to Whitescar and, with the help of Con and his half-sister Lisa, easily manages to convince everyone that she is Annabel. But who exactly is Mary Grey and does she have reasons of her own for agreeing to go along with Con’s plans?

The Ivy Tree was published in 1961 and was written as a contemporary novel, although it now has a lovely, old-fashioned feel. I loved Mary Stewart’s descriptions of the setting, especially as I only live a few miles away from Hadrian’s Wall (the wall built by the Romans almost two thousand years ago) and I know exactly what the scenery she’s describing looks like. Her descriptive passages aren’t too long or too detailed, but include just enough information about the landscape, flowers, animals and birds to build up a vivid and realistic picture of the part of the country she’s writing about.

Mary Stewart’s novels (apart from her historical Arthurian novels) are usually described as romantic suspense. The romantic thread in this book was very weak in my opinion, but there was certainly lots of suspense. There are also one or two interesting subplots including one revolving around Julie’s boyfriend Donald, an archaeologist who is spending the summer working at a Roman fort in the area. And I should also mention the animals: there are some horses that have an important role to play in the story, especially Rowan the colt, as well as some funny scenes involving Tommy, a black and white cat.

Mary Stewart’s heroines are usually such nice, pleasant, likeable people, but the narrator of this book, Mary Grey, is an exception because she’s not so instantly likeable and her willingness to take part in Con’s schemes made me doubt and distrust her from the beginning. I didn’t really like any of the other characters either but I enjoyed being kept wondering who was ‘good’ and who was ‘bad’. As for the mystery aspect of the novel, I guessed the truth long before it was revealed but it was still interesting looking out for clues that might confirm whether I was right or not. This is one of those cleverly plotted books that would benefit from being read twice, so you can appreciate all the subtle little hints that the author has dropped into the story. I didn’t love the book enough to want to read it all again immediately but I did take the time to re-read the first chapter and noticed a few clues that had meant nothing to me the first time.

Of the four Mary Stewart novels I’ve now read, I liked this one a lot more than Rose Cottage but not as much as Touch Not the Cat or my favourite, Nine Coaches Waiting. For a better novel about mistaken identities and impersonations I would recommend Daphne du Maurier’s The Scapegoat. You could also try Brat Farrar by Josephine Tey, which I haven’t read yet, but which is referred to more than once by characters in The Ivy Tree when they’re discussing other famous cases of impersonations – yet another book to add to my list!

If you like Mary Stewart too, can you help me decide which of her books I should read next?

26 thoughts on “The Ivy Tree by Mary Stewart”

  1. I’ve only read (and LOVED) Stewart’s Arthurian books, but I would like to read her mysteries, too. I think I’d really enjoy them, even if they are in a different style than her Arthurian tales.

    1. I’ve only been reading the mystery/suspense novels so far, but I’m looking forward to reading the Arthurian ones too. I’ve only ever heard good things about them.

  2. This is the only one of Stewart’s books that I’ve read besides her Arthurian ones, which, like Aarti, I loved. I thought this one was pretty fun too. I can’t remember when I figured out what was going on, but I remember feeling like something wasn’t quite right almost from the start. I do remember going back to read the first chapter and finding a few things that I missed.

  3. I added this book to my TBR pile after I saw the comparisons with Brat Farrar, which is a marvelous book (I love all of Josephine Tey’s books), but I’ve let slip down the pile. It does sound like an intriguing story, so I’ll move it back up.

    1. I’m glad to hear Brat Farrar is good. I’ve only read one Josephine Tey book, The Daughter of Time, but have been wanting to read more of her work. I’m definitely adding that one to my TBR!

  4. I’ve just read this too, for the crime fiction alphabet, and you’ve caught it perfectly. The only one I’ve read that you haven’t is Thunder on the Right, and though I didn’t like it as much as this one I’m happy to recommend it.

    1. Thanks for the recommendation. My library usually has a good selection of Mary Stewart books and I’m sure I’ve seen that one on the shelf – I’ll look out for it next time I go!

  5. I’m glad to see another review of the fantastic Mary Stewart! I so adore her books. I am just about to start ‘Madam, Will You Talk?’ and own 3 others that I look forward to reading later in the year. I recommend either ‘Thunder on the Right’ or ‘The Moonspinners’ – they are both very good.

    1. I’ll look forward to your thoughts on Madam, Will You Talk. I haven’t heard much about that one – I think it was her first novel, wasn’t it?

  6. I really want to read this book. I’ve just finished ‘Stormy Petrel’ which I didn’t like as much as her earlier books. I must try and pick this one up sometime.

  7. Hi, was blog hopping and found your blog 🙂 Great review! I haven’t read any of Stewart’s books. Although, this one sounds good. I don’t usually like to read romantic fiction and haven’t read romantic-suspense, ever; but if the romantic thread really is weak, like you said, I might want to try this book!

  8. I’m currently reading through all of Mary Stewarts suspense novels. I’m about 4 novels shy of finishing. My favorites so far are Nine Coaches Waiting, This Rough Magic, The Ivy Tree (which I just finished tonight), Airs above the Ground and The Moonspinners.

    1. I read Madam, Will You Talk? last year and loved it, especially the car chase scenes, but I think Nine Coaches Waiting is still my favourite.

  9. Thunder On The Right was not very good; I read an interview with Mary Stewart where she said that she hated that book and wished that she could make it disappear. My Brother Michael is one of my favorites of hers, you might try it.

    1. I’m glad to hear you would recommend My Brother Michael as it’s one of the few Stewart novels I still have left to read. I haven’t read Thunder on the Right yet either, but I’ll lower my expectations for that one!

  10. She said the book (Thunder On the Right) was full of purple prose. Airs Above the Ground is also on of my favorites. Stewart is one of my favorite authors; she writes so well.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

