R.I.P. VII is here!


It’s September tomorrow and summer is coming to an end (not that we’ve had much of a summer here in the UK this year). But as the nights start to get darker it means it’s time for R.I.P. (R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril), one of my favourite reading events! As always, R.I.P. VII is hosted by Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings and runs throughout the months of September and October. The idea is to read books that could be classified as one of the following:

Mystery
Suspense
Thriller
Dark Fantasy
Gothic
Horror
Supernatural
Or anything sufficiently moody that shares a kinship with the above.

There are a few different levels of participation to choose from. I’m planning to participate in Peril the First, which means reading four books.

I’m listing below a selection of books I would like to read that fit the above categories. I certainly don’t expect to have time to read all of these before the end of October, but I wanted to give myself plenty of options. It’s also possible that I’ll change my mind and decide to read some books that I haven’t mentioned. I’m very bad at sticking to lists!

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – This has been on my R.I.P. list for the last two years and I still haven’t read it!

The House by the Churchyard by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu – I’ve read Uncle Silas and want to try another Le Fanu book. I might be tempted to read Carmilla instead as it’s much shorter.

The Seance by John Harwood – This was recommended to me after I read and loved John Harwood’s other novel, The Ghost Writer.

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson – I’m hoping I’ll enjoy this as much as We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson – It’s on my Classics Club list along with the Mary Shelley and Sheridan Le Fanu books above, so this is a good opportunity to read all three.

The Quarry by Johan Theorin – Another one that was on my list last year.

Blood Harvest by S.J. Bolton – This is the only book by S.J. Bolton that I still haven’t read.

Dragonwyck by Anya Seton – I love Anya Seton and have been wanting to read this for years!

The Woman in Black by Susan Hill – Another book I’ve been meaning to read for a long time.

A Monstrous Regiment of Women by Laurie R. King – I read the first book in the Mary Russell series in January and loved it, but still haven’t had time to read the second one.

Bleeding Heart Square by Andrew Taylor – I read The American Boy and The Anatomy of Ghosts in 2011 and enjoyed them both, so I’m looking forward to this one.

The Curse of the Pharaohs by Elizabeth Peters – Another series I started and haven’t continued with.

The Romance of the Forest by Ann Radcliffe – I’ve read three of Radcliffe’s other gothic novels, so I’d like to try this one too.

Who else is taking part in R.I.P. this year? See Carl’s post for more information and to sign up.

8 thoughts on “R.I.P. VII is here!

  1. Cat says:

    Some wonderful titles there. I keep meaning to begin the Mary Russell series which everyone seems to love and now may be a good time. Enjoy your reading!

  2. Lisa says:

    I’ve been thinking of The Haunting of HIll House as well – at least for Hallowe’en, if not for RIP. And there’s a new Laurie King coming out next week – something to look forward to. Monstrous Regiment of Women may be my favorite of the Mary Russell books (and it’s also the title of one of my favorite Terry Pratchett books).

  3. jessicabookworm says:

    I was very tempted to take apart in this event again this year but I know I can get easily stressed out with challenges. So I am going to take it easy on myself until atleast next year now.

    I highly recommend reading Frankenstein and The Haunting of Hill House. Although I didn’t quite love this Jackson novella as much as I loved We Have Always Lived in the Castle. Really looking forward to seeing what you read for this event.

  4. geraniumcat says:

    That’s a great list! I’ve got Anya Seton somewhere on the TBR pile 0 haven’t read any since I was in my teens and I’m rather looking forward to reacquainting myself with her. I’ve been meaning to read Bleeding Heart Square for a while – I think I read The American Boy for last year’s RIP and liked it a lot.

  5. Anbolyn Potter (@anbolynp) says:

    I don’t think I can commit to RIP this year, but I love reading my fellow bloggers’ posts on all their spooky reading. I’ll probably fit in a few short stories around Halloween, though.
    Blood Harvest is creepy! It definitely gave me a chill and made me afraid to turn out the lights.

  6. Sarah says:

    What an interestinh challenge. I’d love to join in as I love supernatural thrillers but I am moving house in September and it will be too much. Looking forward to your reviews though.

  7. Carl V. says:

    Wow, what a list! I enjoyed The Haunting of Hill House. Not as much as We Have Always Lived in the Castle, but still it was a good Shirley Jackson story. Carmilla is fun. I read it years ago after seeing the silly Hammer Horror version of the film. The Woman in Black is one I want to read at some point myself. It has been on my list for the last few years but I have yet to get to it.

    Thanks so much for joining in on R.I.P. Sorry you didn’t have much of a summer over there. I jealously coveted your weather during the Olympic coverage and would have gladly had you send some of it our way.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

