Double, Double, Toil and Trouble!

Earlier this year I re-read Macbeth as part of a Shakespeare reading challenge, but never got round to actually posting about it. And so, in honour of Halloween I decided to share ten of my favourite quotes from the play. Enjoy!

***

“Tis safer to be that which we destroy, Than by destruction dwell in doubtful joy”

***


“I have no spur
To prick the sides of my intent, but only
Vaulting ambition, which o’erleaps itself
And falls on the other.”

***

“Stars, hide your fires; Let not light see my black and deep desires.”

***

“Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day
To the last syllable of recorded time;
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage,
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.”

***

“Give sorrow words; the grief that does not speak whispers the o’er-fraught heart, and bids it break.”

***


“Come, you spirits
That tend on mortal thoughts! Unsex me here,
And fill me from the crown to the toe top full
Of direst cruelty; make thick my blood,
Stop up the access and passage to remorse,
That no compunctious visitings of nature
Shake my fell purpose, nor keep peace between
The effect and it!”

***

“By the pricking of my thumbs, Something wicked this way comes.”

***

“Away, and mock the time with fairest show:
False face must hide what the false heart doth know.”

***

“Come what come may, time and the hour run through the roughest day.”

***

“Double, double, toil and trouble;
Fire burn and cauldron bubble!”

4 thoughts on “Double, Double, Toil and Trouble!”

  1. This is opportune! I’m just about to release a book about Macbeth – both play and real man. It’s one of those plays that is endlessly fascinating. I got to like it when I wrote a version and directed it for a school production, along with my sister who was the English teacher where I taught drama at an independent school. I found out so much about the play doing it that I’ve been fascinated ever since and ended up writing this novel. Title is based on the tomorrow quote FOR ONE MORE TOMORROW. Coincidence, or what?

  2. I rarely say the name since an old drama teacher freaked me out with stories of theatre deaths. That said it’s one of my most favourite of Shakespeare, and the only work I found particularly interesting at school.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

