Classics Club Readathon

classics-club-readathon-january-2013

Today I’m taking part in the first ever Classics Club Readathon. The readathon starts at 8am EST, which is 1pm here, though I think I will probably have to miss the first few hours and start later in the afternoon. When I signed up for this last month I expected to have plenty of time to read today, but I now have some other commitments so I might not be able to get as much reading done as I had hoped.

I’m currently in the middle of reading The Small House at Allington by Anthony Trollope so I’m going to concentrate on finishing that before I start anything else. If I do finish it, I’ll be choosing another book from my Classics Club list to read next.

To avoid overwhelming you with extra posts I’ll be updating this post throughout the readathon.

The Small House at Allington Update 8.30pm – I’ve read another 8 chapters of The Small House at Allington and am still hoping to finish the book before the end of the readathon. I’m enjoying this one a lot more than the previous Barsetshire novel, Framley Parsonage, despite some very frustrating characters!

Update 9.00am – It’s Sunday morning, I’ve had some sleep and there are still 4 hours of the readathon to go. I am still reading The Small House at Allington and have 7 more chapters to read.

Final Update 12.30pm – I finished The Small House at Allington this morning and with the readathon almost over, I decided not to start another book. I’m quite happy with what I’ve achieved and I think immersing myself in the story for long periods enabled me to enjoy it more than I would have done if I had dragged it out over a few weeks. My thoughts on the book will follow soon!

16 thoughts on “Classics Club Readathon

  1. Sam (Tiny Library) says:

    I’m taking part today too. I don’t think time reading is important, just that you do some reading.
    What will you choose off your classics club list, do you think?
    I’m starting with Tender is the Night by Fitzgerald, I read about 50 pages last night & it’s good so far.

    • Helen says:

      I’m still not sure what my next choice will be, but if I do manage to finish The Small House at Allington I’ll probably want to read something a bit shorter and lighter. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying Tender is the Night!

  2. Lisa says:

    I’m interested to try a readathon at some point, though I don’t read for long stretches at a time these days, like I used to. I hope you’re enjoying The Small House!

    • Helen says:

      Yes I am, and wishing I hadn’t waited so long after reading Framley Parsonage before picking this one up. I’ve been reminded of why I love Trollope so much!

    • Helen says:

      I think Framley Parsonage might be my least favourite of the series…I thought this one was much better and I’m looking forward to reading The Last Chronicle of Barset soon.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

