After the Sunday Papers #12: Trying again

newspaper-clip-art-4 “She had read novels while other people perused the Sunday papers”
~ Mary Elizabeth Braddon, The Doctor’s Wife

***

I know I say this every time I write one of my Sunday Papers posts, but I can’t believe how long it’s been since the last one! It was always my intention to have a weekly roundup of my reading, upcoming reading events and other book-related musings, but for one reason or another I’ve never been able to get organised and post on a regular basis. As I do like to have some variety in my blogging and I feel that I’ve been posting nothing but book reviews recently, I’m going to try again and aim to post on at least one or two Sundays each month, even if I can’t manage every Sunday. Thinking about this has made me consider my whole blogging schedule (or lack of it) and I’ve been wondering whether it would be more or less stressful to have a fixed schedule where I post, for example, two reviews a week on a Tuesday and Thursday, with a post like this one on a Sunday, if I feel like it. What do you think? Do you plan ahead and post on certain days or do you prefer to be more spontaneous?

A More Diverse Universe Anyway, let’s start with an update on what I’m reading at the moment, beginning with my choice for A More Diverse Universe, which is being hosted by Aarti of Booklust from 15-17 November. Aarti has defined this on her blog as follows: “A More Diverse Universe celebrates diversity in speculative fiction by encouraging people to read books in the fantasy or science fiction genres that were written by people of color.” Who else is taking part in this? You can sign up here.

I had some trouble at first finding a book that would fit the requirements and that actually appealed to me (which I think highlights the need for an event like this, as there are so many more fantasy and science fiction books to choose from that are written by white authors), but when I saw that a few participants last year had read Salman Rushdie, I thought it would be a good opportunity to finally try one of his books. I am currently halfway through The Enchantress of Florence, which is full of magical realism, and enjoying it so far.

Speaking of fantasy, it’s not a genre I read often, but over the last few days I’ve been having fun re-reading my favourite fantasy series for the first time in more than a decade. More on that in a future post!

wilkieinwinter-1024x1024 Another event coming up in December is Wilkie in Winter hosted by The Estella Society. Wilkie Collins is one of my favourite authors and it’s been too long since I last read one of his books!

There are going to be two readalongs as part of Wilkie in Winter – The Frozen Deep and The Woman in White – though I haven’t decided yet if I want to participate in them. I’ve never read The Frozen Deep so I’m tempted to join in with that one, but I’ve already read The Woman in White a few times and while I do love it, I think I would rather re-read one of his others…possibly Armadale. I can never decide whether The Woman in White or Armadale is my favourite!

What have you been reading this week? What are your reading plans for the rest of 2013?

12 thoughts on “After the Sunday Papers #12: Trying again

  1. Ludo says:

    I find you quite a rigorous blogger. I don’t plan my posts and I do not write as regularly as I would like.

    And now, going off topic, since you like Daphne du Maurier, I thought to let you know that a BBC production of Jamaica Inn should air next spring, possibly at Easter 2014 (some of the filming was in Kirby Lonsdale, last month, not far from where I live.)

  2. Alex says:

    Have you read ‘No Name’? It was a book group choice sometime last year and proved to be an excellent novel for discussion. I find Rushdie hard to get on with but we have one of his coming up for December so I’m going to have to over come my problems with magical realism and buckle down and read it.

    • Helen says:

      I became slightly obsessed with Wilkie Collins a few years ago and read about ten of his books in quick succession (some more than once) which is probably why I haven’t felt like reading any more for a while. I did read No Name and enjoyed it, though not quite as much as some of his others. My favourite part was the battle of wits between Captain Wragge and Mrs Lecount!

  3. Sam (Tiny Library) says:

    I’m really looking forward to the More Diverse Universe event. I’m not a Rushdie fan myself, but I’m glad you’re enjoying the book so far.
    I think I’m going to read N.K. Jemisin’s Hundred Thousand Kingdoms or Saladin Ahmed’s Throne of the Crescent Moon. I can’t wait to get to both of them!

    • Helen says:

      I haven’t read either of those books, though I had considered reading Throne of the Crescent Moon for the event myself, so I’ll look forward to hearing your thoughts on them!

  4. Jo says:

    I just have lots of books to read for the rest of 2013.

    I like your frequency of posts, but it is always nice to hear about what’s going on book wise or other if you wish to share. I tend to schedule my posts for every 2-3 days and it depends on whether I have anything else to say then I post that and rejig the posts.

    Looking forward to reading your reviews, you give me loads of books to read.

    • Helen says:

      I’m sure I could make things a lot easier for myself if I could manage to schedule my posts in advance. I think every 2-3 days is about the right frequency.

      I hope you enjoy your reading for the rest of 2013!

  5. Lisa says:

    I always enjoy your book reviews & certainly don’t feel they come too often! I don’t follow a schedule – I just post when I have a book to discuss (and my posts are almost always reviews). I try not to wait too long after finishing a book, because then I start to forget the details! As a case in point, I have read The Woman in White according to my book journal, but I cannot remember the first thing about it. I’ve also got No Name & Armadale on the TBR shelves, so I’m mulling joining in the Collins-athon.

  6. jessicabookworm says:

    I really do enjoy personal posts so I hope your Sunday idea works for you. Sadly I struggle to write more spontaneously I much prefer to schedule ahead. Similarly though I am little worried that beginning of the month I do more meme, personal and challenge style posts while the end of the months is review heavy. This month I am trying to spread my meme, personal and challenge out over the month.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

