Time for another Classics Club Spin!

The Classics Club

This is the fourth Spin hosted by the Classics Club this year. I didn’t take part in the last one but enjoyed the previous two so I’ve decided to join in again with this one.

Here are the rules:

* List any twenty books you have left to read from your Classics Club list.
* Number them from 1 to 20.
* Next Monday a number will be chosen.
* This is the book you need to read in November and December!

And here is my Spin List:

In the past I’ve tried to be creative and divide my list into categories. This time it’s less complicated; the odd numbers are books I’m looking forward to reading and the even numbers are books that I do want to read but have been putting off either because of the length or because they don’t appeal to me as much as they did when I first added them to my Classics Club list last year.

Obviously I would prefer an odd number but I’ll be happy to read whatever the Spin chooses for me!

1. The Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy
2. Can You Forgive Her? by Anthony Trollope
3. Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne du Maurier
4. Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
5. Family Roundabout by Richmal Crompton
6. East of Eden by John Steinbeck
7. The Sea Hawk by Rafael Sabatini
8. The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot
9. The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
10. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
11. A Country Doctor’s Notebook by Mikhail Bulgakov
12. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (re-read)
13. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym
14. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
15. The Vicomte de Bragelonne by Alexandre Dumas
16. The Heart of Midlothian by Sir Walter Scott
17. Idle Thoughts of an Idle Fellow by Jerome K. Jerome
18. The Charterhouse of Parma by Stendhal
19. The Heir of Redclyffe by Charlotte M. Yonge
20. The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo

Now I just need to wait until Monday to find out what I’ll be reading!

Have you read any of these? Which numbers should I be hoping for or dreading?

21 thoughts on “Time for another Classics Club Spin!

  1. mesetageresenfranglais says:

    Oh I have the 2 other books of Du maurier in my pile to read, not this one. I love this author so if you fall on number 3, I would say to be happy. Then I have like you the mill on the floss that I keep pushing back as well because the writing is tiny, the book quite thick so I can’t really encourage you as I can even encourage myself. And finally, for the Bronte book, if it is a re-read, then you know what to expect. I enjoyed the book myself. Number 11 is also very good, I really enjoyed it.
    Good luck, don’t dread, just smile when you spin!(and cheating when no one is looking at you, in some cases, can not be considered as cheating…So a 1 can easily be mistaken for an 11 on the paper…if you know what I mean 😉

    • Helen says:

      Du Maurier is one of my favourite authors so number 3 is one of the numbers I’m hoping for the most! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed number 11 – I loved The Master and Margarita by Bulgakov but haven’t tried any of his other books yet.

      • mesetageresenfranglais says:

        I want to read this one, the master and margarita because I enjoyed the doctor’s diary. Although there is normally “morphine” with it that I liked less and another short story that I didn’t get. But the diary itself was good.
        Fingers crossed that you fall on one of the numbers you desire!

  2. piningforthewest says:

    I’ve read and enjoyed 1,2,3,4,5,8,12,13 and 17. I would dread The Hunchback of Notre Dame but Idle Thoughts of an Idle Fellow is light-hearted fun.

  3. Gillian says:

    Read A Tale of Two Cities…it’s really good. I’m not even a Dicken’s fan and I love that book. It was slow and I hardly undertstood, but I swear the last paragraph won me over and I now love that book. I will re-read it, someday. 🙂

    I’d love you to read The Hunchback of Notre Dame! I tried it last year but had to put it down. Maybe I’ll tackle it in the new year…..

    ~Gillian
    youngyankeelady.blogspot.com

    • Helen says:

      I’ve had mixed experiences with Dickens…I’ve enjoyed some of his books but struggled with others. It’s good to hear that you loved it even without being a Dickens fan!

  4. Sam (Tiny Library) says:

    Yay, you decided to take part 🙂
    I put off reading East of Eden for years but my husband practically forced me to read it last month and I was surprised at how quickly I got through it, definitely much easier to read than it’s length would suggest. I also loved it.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I couldn’t resist taking part! East of Eden is one of the books on my list that I’ve been feeling nervous about reading, so it’s good to know that you found it easier to read than you expected.

  5. Fleur in her World says:

    That is a wonderful list, and I’d pick out 1, 8 and 13 as the numbers I’d wish for you. I’m stepping back from the spin this time, because I have to finish my century of books for the year and because I still haven’t written about my last spin book.

  6. Christy says:

    East of Eden is on my spin list as well. The size daunts me, though I think I will like it. I enjoyed Hunchback of Notre Dame – Hugo goes off on a couple of major tangents, but overall it’s an engaging story and I liked his writing.

    Also for some reason Can You Forgive Her? and He Knew He Was Right seem funny titles (to me) to be applied to classic novels – thanks Trollope!

    • Helen says:

      I’m glad to hear you enjoyed The Hunchback of Notre Dame. I’ve been meaning to read it for a while but haven’t been in the right mood for it. I hope you enjoy East of Eden if you get that one!

    • Helen says:

      I’ll be pleased if any of those three are selected, especially Vanity Fair as I’m looking forward to reading it but need some motivation to pick it up.

  7. Karen K. says:

    I read East of Eden last year for my TBR Pile Challenge and loved it, but then I have loved most of Steinbeck. I see you have Excellent Women by Barbara Pym, which is a delight — and Jerome K. Jerome would be a fun read. I’ve read Three Men in a Boat several times and it always makes me laugh. I also have The Hunchback on my list and I’m sort of afraid of it. I hope you enjoy your Spin pick!

    • Helen says:

      I feel sure I would enjoy The Hunchback but I’ve been feeling a bit hesitant to read it too. The Jerome K. Jerome book is one of the titles on my list that I’m hoping for the most!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

