It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…

The Classics Club

The result of the Classics Club Spin has been announced today! The Spin number is…

Number 10!

This means I have to read the book at number 10 on the list I posted last week.

A Tale of Two Cities

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

This is not one of the books I was hoping would be chosen, but I’m happy enough with this result as it’s been a while since I last read anything by Dickens.

Have you read it? What did you think of it?

If you participated too, I hope the Spin has selected something you’ll love!

22 thoughts on “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…”

  1. A Tale of Two Cities is also on my Classics Club list I’ve been hoping it would get chosen for the last three spins but no luck so far! As you know though I did get another Dickens novel this spin πŸ™‚

    1. I hope you like this book when you read it for the readalong. I’ve enjoyed some of Dickens’ books in the past but struggled with others, so I’m looking forward to finding out what I think of this one!

    1. A Tale of Two Cities wouldn’t have been my first choice from my spin list but there were others I was dreading more, so I’m not too unhappy with the result!

  2. A Tale of Two Cities is my least favorite of the the Dickens novels I’ve read, but so many seem to love it. Hope you fall into that category. I got one of my Persephone books this time – Cheerful Weather for the Wedding by Julia Strachey.

  3. I am not a huge fan of Charles Dickens…in fact, I don’t much like his books EXCEPT for A Tale of Two Cities…and that one I love. I hope you like it, too. Happy Reading!

  4. I honestly can’t remember if I’ve actually read this book, or just read so much about it that I feel like I know the story. I hope you enjoy it!

  5. A Tale of Two Cities is one of my favourite books. I first read it at school and re-read it last year – I liked it even more!I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! My spin book is Washington Square by Henry James. My list was mainly shortish books, so I didn’t mind which one was picked.

    1. A list of mainly short books sounds like a good idea. I love long books but have to be in the right mood for them and always end up dreading the longer ones on my Spin list!

  6. It’s a long time since I read this (probably prompted by the Dirk Bogarde film!) and I remember enjoying it at the time. However, I suspect that for me it’s a book for my youth and I certainly don’t feel drawn back to it repeatedly as I do with some of Dickens other novels.

  7. My spin pick was The Earth by Emile Zola, which is long but I love Zola so I’m happy. I have read most of Dickens, and A Tale of Two Cities is one of the better ones, though not on my list of favorites. I had The Old Curiosity Shop on my list and the Spin inspired me to check the audiobook out from the library, so I may even complete two more books off my Classics Club list before the end of the year!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

