My Classics Club Spin book is…

Number 20!

The Classics Club

Last week I decided to take part in the fifth Classics Club Spin. The rules were simple – list twenty books from your Classics Club list, number them 1 to 20, and the number announced today (Monday) represents the book you have to read during February and March.

The number that has been selected is 20, which means the book I’ll be reading is:

Can You Forgive Her

Can You Forgive Her? by Anthony Trollope

I’m not sure how I feel about this…it’s not one of the titles on my list that I was hoping for, but I wasn’t dreading it either. This is the first of Trollope’s Palliser novels and my copy has been on my shelf unread for three or four years, waiting for me to finish the Barsetshire series. I read the last of the six Barsetshire novels last year so I now have no excuse not to read this one!

If you participated in the spin are you happy with your result?

19 thoughts on “My Classics Club Spin book is…

      • Lark says:

        Am writing it down. Do you happen to know which book comes first? (I’ve been aware of Trollope and meaning to read him forever…but just haven’t gotten around to it, so here’s hoping this year is the year!)

        • Helen says:

          The first in the series is The Warden, which is also the shortest so it’s a good way to get an idea of his writing style without committing to a longer book. Some people recommend starting with the second one, Barchester Towers, as it’s a better book, but I always prefer to start at the beginning!

          • Lark says:

            I like starting at the beginning, too. (It’s probably the same thing in me that makes me want to read the book BEFORE I see the movie.) Anyway, thanks! The Warden it is. 🙂

  1. Anna says:

    This novel has been on my TBR list for many, many years! Right now I have a copy on my Nook, but still haven’t gotten around to reading it. Am looking forward to your comments on the novel. Happy reading!

  2. Karen K. says:

    I got Trollope too — He Knew He Was Right, which is a stand-alone, and a seriously long book, almost 900 pages (just a bit longer than Can You Forgive Her!) But it was also adapted into a BBC miniseries so I’ll use that for one of my Back to the Classics categories, the book that’s been adapted.

    I still haven’t read any of the Pallisers, two of them are on my Classics Club list as well. Good luck with it and I look forward to your review!

  3. Alex says:

    Once you’ve fallen in love with the characters here you won’t be able to stop yourself going on and reading the other five Palliser novels. I hope you’re ready to be swept off your feet.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

