After the Sunday Papers #15

newspaper-clip-art-4 Well, this week was a lot more stressful than I’d expected, unfortunately! I was driving home from work on Wednesday when I was hit from behind while waiting at traffic lights. Nobody was injured but the back of my car was quite badly damaged – and to make things even worse, it’s a new car that I’ve only had for a week! I couldn’t believe it! The other driver was entirely at fault and her insurance company have arranged for the repairs (which could take up to two weeks) and provided me with a courtesy car, but as you can probably imagine I didn’t have much time or enthusiasm for reading and blogging for a couple of days.

Madame Bovary Readalong Things have settled down now, so I’m starting to catch up and am looking forward to telling you about some of my recent reads, including Eva Stachniak’s Empress of the Night, a novel about Catherine the Great, and Watch the Wall, My Darling by Jane Aiken Hodge, a great romantic suspense novel from the 1960s. I’m also taking part in a readalong of Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert this month, hosted by ebookclassics and Cedar Station. I have never read it before and have had a copy on my shelf for a while so this seemed like a good time to read it. I started it last night and have enjoyed what I’ve read so far.

I noticed on Friday that the shortlist for this year’s Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction has been announced. I always follow the progress of this prize with interest as historical fiction is my favourite genre. The books on the shortlist are:

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
Harvest by Jim Crace
Fair Helen by Andrew Greig
An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris
The Promise by Ann Weisgarber

The only one of these I have read is Life After Life, though Fair Helen sounds great and I’ll probably read The Luminaries eventually too. The winner will be announced in June.

How has your week been? I hope it’s been better than mine!

12 thoughts on “After the Sunday Papers #15”

  1. Car accidents are so scary! and how unfair that it was a new car. I’m glad you weren’t here, though I’m sure shaken up.

    I only recognize two titles on the Scott list – one being Life After Life. I’ll have to check the others out.

  2. Glad to hear you are ok. I have had it happen to me and it does shake you up. Hope your new car is with you soon.

    I have moly read Life after Life which seems like an aeon ago now. I have The Luminaires to read but I think I might need to break that down as it is such a huge book!

    1. Thanks, Jo. It’s just so frustrating that no matter how careful you are with your own driving there’s nothing you can do about the cars behind you.

      I’ve been trying to decide whether or not to read The Luminaries and it’s only really the length that has been putting me off.

  3. So sorry about the car, what a bummer. Hope everything gets patched up quickly, and I’m happy to hear that you’re all right!

    1. Thanks, Vicki! I got the car back today so I’ll be able to put all of that behind me now. Enjoy your Easter reading – I agree that historical fiction can sometimes require a lot of time and attention, especially if you’re not familiar with the time periods.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

