And my Classics Club Spin book is…

The Classics Club

Number 1

Last week I decided to take part in the sixth Classics Club Spin. The rules were simple – list twenty books from your Classics Club list, number them 1 to 20, and the number announced today (Monday) represents the book you have to read before 7th July 2014.

The number that has been selected is 1, which means the book I’ll be reading is:

The Mayor of Casterbridge

The Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy

I’m happy with this. There were some other titles on my list that I would have preferred, but I do love Thomas Hardy and I haven’t read any of his books for a while.

If you participated in the spin too, were you pleased with your result?

27 thoughts on “And my Classics Club Spin book is…

  1. Fariba says:

    I got The Canterbury Tales. The only Thomas Hardy work I’ve read is Tess of the d’Urbervilles. I look forward to reading your review for The Mayor of Casterbridge.

  2. Alex says:

    The first chapters of that book make me soooo angry. Nothing can be too bad for a man who behaves as the hero does in that novel.

  3. Candiss says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about The Mayor of Casterbridge. I hope you love it!

    I spun A High Wind in Jamaica and am quite thrilled. I’ve wanted to read it for a long while now.

  4. Lark says:

    Sounds like a great spin; haven’t read this particular Hardy, but I’ve loved the Hardy novels that I have read. Hope you enjoy it.

  5. Margaret @ BooksPlease says:

    I read this book at school – and I’ve loved it ever since! But then Hardy is one of my favourite authors. My book is Mansfield Park – a book I thought I’d read, but I haven’t, so I’m looking forward to a treat.

    • Helen says:

      I still have about half of Hardy’s novels left to read but based on the ones I’ve read he’s one of my favourite authors too. I’m looking forward to starting this one.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

