Gibside

On Saturday I decided to take advantage of the warm, sunny weather and my National Trust membership to visit Gibside, a beautiful 18th century country estate overlooking the Derwent Valley, only a few miles away from where I live. Gibside was formerly the home of the Bowes-Lyon family before becoming a National Trust property. I thought I’d share some of my photos with you today.

This is Gibside Hall, sadly now in ruins:

Gibside Hall 2

Gibside Hall

Several views of the Orangery, also a ruin:

Gibside Orangery 1

Gibside Orangery 2

Gibside Orangery 3

Gibside Orangery 4

The long tree-lined Avenue and the path beside it:

Gibside avenue

Gibside avenue 2

The Column of British Liberty, built in the 1750s:

Column of Liberty

I loved the pretty colours here:

Gibside 2

Gibside 3

Gibside

The estate also includes a chapel, stables and a newly restored walled garden (still a work in progress). I didn’t take any pictures of these this time, but maybe on my next visit!

16 thoughts on “Gibside

  1. Virginie M says:

    What a shame this beautiful property is in ruins !!! A lovely place ! Thanks for sharing your pics Helen !

  2. lindylit says:

    What a beautiful building, it is a shame it has been left to ruin. I too went to a National Trust property this weekend and enjoyed a lovely stroll around the gardens at Stourhead.

    • Helen says:

      It was abandoned in the 1920s apparently and fell into ruin after that. It’s a shame, but the rest of the estate is still a lovely place to visit.

  3. Joanne says:

    Have you read Wedlock by Wendy Moore? It’s the story of Mary Eleanor Bowes, who was brought up at Gibside. There’s a quite a bit about the house in it. I’ve been intending to visit Gibside for ages (I’m also a north-east girl), this summer perhaps.

    • Helen says:

      No, there’s nothing inside – it’s really just an empty shell. There’s a chapel on the estate that is still intact, though I didn’t manage to take a picture of it.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

