Six in six!

Two years ago Jo of The Book Jotter came up with this fun and simple meme to help us reflect on the books we’ve read in the first six months of the year. The idea is to pick six different categories and then for each one list six books or authors that you’ve read so far this year. Jo has provided lots of category headings to choose from if you need inspiration or you can be creative and think of your own. This time I’ve used some of the same categories that I’ve used in previous years, as well as one or two new ones. I’ve only listed each book once, though some could have been included in more than one category.

6

Six classics read in 2014

1. Can You Forgive Her? by Anthony Trollope
2. Stoner by John Williams
3. The Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy
4. Tender is the Night by F. Scott Fitzgerald
5. Coming Up for Air by George Orwell
6. Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert

Six novels based on the lives of real people

1. Sisters of Treason by Elizabeth Fremantle (Katherine and Mary Grey)
2. The Summer Queen by Elizabeth Chadwick (Eleanor of Aquitaine)
3. Crippen by John Boyne (Dr Hawley Harvey Crippen)
4. Empress of the Night by Eva Stachniak (Catherine the Great)
5. Girl on the Golden Coin by Marci Jefferson (Frances Stuart)
6. Falls the Shadow by Sharon Penman (Simon de Montfort)

Six books with an element of mystery and suspense

1. The Second Duchess by Elizabeth Loupas
2. Madam, Will You Talk? by Mary Stewart
3. Tropical Issue by Dorothy Dunnett
4. A Dark and Twisted Tide by Sharon Bolton
5. Cat Among the Pigeons by Agatha Christie
6. Watch the Wall, My Darling by Jane Aiken Hodge

Six books that took me to six different locations

1. Beatrice and Benedick by Marina Fiorato (Sicily)
2. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie (Nigeria)
3. The Long Song by Andrea Levy (Jamaica)
4. The Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadifa Mohamed (Somalia)
5. One Night in Winter by Simon Sebag Montefiore (Russia)
6. Ghostwritten by Isabel Wolff (Java)

Six authors new to me this year

1. Jenny Barden (The Lost Duchess)
2. Paul Doherty (Roseblood)
3. Laurie Lee (Cider with Rosie)
4. Deborah Harkness (A Discovery of Witches)
5. Octavia Butler (Kindred)
6. Margaret Irwin (These Mortals)

Six books I loved but didn’t manage to fit into another category above

1. The Moon in the Water by Pamela Belle
2. Insurrection by Robyn Young
3. Family Roundabout by Richmal Crompton
4. The Fortune Hunter by Daisy Goodwin
5. Little Man, What Now? by Hans Fallada
6. The Convictions of John Delahunt by Andrew Hughes

How has your reading been in 2014 so far? Have you or will you be posting your own six in six?

11 thoughts on “Six in six!

  1. jessicabookworm says:

    Great categories Helen your choices mean you’ve really managed to pack a lot into this post. I would have loved to have done a Classics category but sadly I haven’t read enough! Happy reading for the next 6 months 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Jessica. I’m happy that I’ve read six classics, but really I was hoping to have read more by now as I still have so many left to read on my Classics Club list!

  2. Alex says:

    I think this a great idea if only because I suspect that if I tried to do it I would find that it was difficult to name six different categories. Far too many of the books I read are too similar. I think I’m going to go over to the parent blog and have a look at the categories suggested there. It might encourage me to broaden the scope of my reading.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, it can be quite difficult choosing the categories and selecting books for each one. A lot of the books I’ve listed could easily fit into more than one of my categories.

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for hosting this again, Jo! I didn’t feel that I’d read many classics this year either but when I looked through my list of books read in 2014 I was pleased to find that I’d read six!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

