Dissolution by C J Sansom

Dissolution Reading C J Sansom’s alternate history novel Dominion a few months ago reminded me that I still hadn’t read any of his Shardlake books, despite meaning to for years. I noticed last week that my library had the whole series available as ebooks, so it seemed as good a time as any to get started with the first one, Dissolution.

Dissolution is set in the winter of 1537, just after the death of Henry VIII’s third wife, Jane Seymour. Having broken away from the Catholic church and declared himself Supreme Head of the Church of England, the King, with the help of Thomas Cromwell, has begun the process of dissolution of the country’s monasteries. After the closure of some of the smaller religious houses in the north led to rebellion, Cromwell is now taking a different approach and is sending commissioners to the larger monasteries to offer pensions to the monks in the hope that they will voluntarily surrender – or if not, to search for signs of fraud, corruption or other legal reasons to close them down.

At the monastery of Scarnsea, on the coast of Sussex, disaster strikes when one of Cromwell’s commissioners, Robin Singleton, is found brutally murdered in the monastery kitchen. Cromwell sends another of his men, the lawyer Matthew Shardlake, to investigate the mystery of Singleton’s death and discover what has been happening at the monastery. Accompanied by his assistant Mark Poer, Shardlake sets out for Scarnsea but what he learns when he arrives there convinces him that the commissioner had been about to make an important discovery before he was killed.

As a murder mystery, there’s everything here that you would expect: the detective and his sidekick, the isolated house (monastery in this case) cut off from the rest of the world, the small group of suspects each with their own secrets and motives, and the usual string of clues and red herrings. But what made this book stand out for me among other historical mysteries was the fascinating setting and detailed portrayal of monastic life. There are some obvious similarities with Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose, although this is an easier read – and set in a completely different time period, of course.

I have read other novels that focus on the dissolution of the monasteries (books such as The Crown by Nancy Bilyeau, for example) but usually from the point of view of the monks and nuns whose way of life has been destroyed. This book is narrated by Shardlake himself and it’s interesting to see dissolution from his perspective, as a dedicated reformer. Shardlake gradually becomes disillusioned with Henry and Cromwell, but for a long time he tries to justify what they are doing and it is only towards the end of the book that he allows himself to have doubts. Something I haven’t mentioned yet is that Shardlake is a hunchback and has spent his life trying to overcome prejudice and rejection. The fact that he has had to deal with a disability in a time much more unenlightened than our own adds another dimension to his personality.

Having taken so long to get round to reading this book, I’m pleased that I did enjoy it! I correctly named the murderer quite early in the story, but while I would like to pretend that I had cleverly managed to solve the mystery I have to admit it was really just a guess. This didn’t spoil the rest of the story at all, though – I had to wait until almost the end of the book to find out if I was right and even after Singleton’s killer was eventually revealed, there were still one or two other developments that took me by surprise! I will definitely be continuing the series with the second book, Dark Fire – but probably not immediately.

12 thoughts on “Dissolution by C J Sansom”

  1. I am going to start reading A Man for All Seasons by Robert Bolt, and afterward I plan to read Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel. Now, I definitely would like to pick up Dissolution as well since all three books explore the character of Thomas Cromwell. And I really love a good mystery. 🙂

    1. I loved Wolf Hall and the sequel, Bring Up the Bodies. Mantel’s portrayal of Cromwell is a lot more sympathetic than C.J. Sansom’s!

  2. I’ve seen these books about a lot and always wondered what they were about. I knew they were historical but didn’t realise they were mysteries too. I am really pleased you enjoyed this sounds like a good Summer read. I might have to try these out myself.

    1. I’m pleased I enjoyed this book so much because it means I now have another five to look forward to! I think you might like the religious element of this one.

  3. I very much enjoyed the first two in this series but after that felt that Sansom tried to include too much material. I hope that having had a break from the character while writing ‘Dominion’ he might have returned to form when the new one, ‘Lamentations’, comes out in October.

    1. That’s a shame…it often seems to be the case that the earlier books in a series are the best. Let’s hope that Lamentations is an improvement – though it will be a long time before I get to that one, anyway!

  4. I just ordered this book and cannot wait to read it. I like historical mysteries and history in general. The hunchback aspect will definitely be interesting, and as you said, will add a different dimension to the story.

    1. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did, Jane. Shardlake is a great character and I’m looking forward to meeting him again in the second book.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

