The Classics Club Spin #7

The Classics Club

It’s time for another Classics Club Spin. I was hoping there would be one this month! As always, here are the rules:

* List any twenty books you have left to read from your Classics Club list.
* Number them from 1 to 20.
* Next Monday (August 11th) the Classics Club will announce a number.
* This is the book you need to read during August and September.

And this is my list:

1. Shirley by Charlotte Brontë
2. The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
3. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym
4. A Country Doctor’s Notebook by Mikhail Bulgakov
5. The Vicomte de Bragelonne by Alexandre Dumas
6. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
7. The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo
8. The Cloister and the Hearth by Charles Reade
9. Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
10. Germinal by Emile Zola
11. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
12. The Heir of Redclyffe by Charlotte M. Yonge
13. The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot
14. The Heart of Midlothian by Sir Walter Scott
15. The Glass-Blowers by Daphne du Maurier
16. The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa
17. The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky
18. East of Eden by John Steinbeck
19. Lorna Doone by R.D. Blackmore
20. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne

I’m not dividing these into categories as I had enough trouble just deciding on my twenty books, but I’ve tried to include a mixture of books that I’m looking forward to reading and books that I feel more hesitant about.

Now I have to wait until next Monday to see what I’ll be reading. Which numbers do you think I should be hoping for?

24 thoughts on “The Classics Club Spin #7

  1. Cleo @ Classical Carousel says:

    What an interesting list! Wharton is always great, as is Zola. Wow, I thought I was the only one who wanted to read The Cloister and the Hearth! It’s on my CC list but I didn’t get it in my spin. I didn’t know that Bulgakov wrote A Country Doctor’s Notebook; I’ll have to check that one out! I read The Idiot earlier this year and really enjoyed it but I’m not sure I quite “got” all of it.

    Enjoy your CC spin!

    • Helen says:

      I love the sound of The Cloister and the Hearth and have heard good things about some of Charles Reade’s other books too. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed The Idiot!

    • Helen says:

      I always put those three books on my spin lists and they are never chosen! I’m looking forward to all three, so even if I don’t get one of them this time I’ll try to fit them in before the end of the year anyway.

  2. My Book Strings says:

    The Age of Innocence is a wonderful book, and I liked The Mill on the Floss as well. I was not a big fan of Around the World in 80 Days, but I think I am in the minority there. I’d like to read The Hunchback of Notre Dame at one point. I hope you’ll enjoy your spin book. Good luck!

    • Helen says:

      I’ll be interested to see what I think of Around the World in 80 Days as I’ve read some very positive reviews and some not so positive. The Hunchback of Notre Dame is one of the numbers I’m hoping for this time!

  3. Karen K. says:

    My top three from your list are Germinal, Excellent Women, and East of Eden. I haven’t read The Glass-Blowers but I love Daphne du Maurier so I’d love to read a review of that one! I’m working on my Spin list, I’ll have to publish it in a few days. Hunchback and Return of the Native will be on it!

    • Helen says:

      I don’t know anything about The Glass-Blowers but I only have three or four Daphne du Maurier novels left to read and that’s one of them. I’m looking forward to reading both The Hunchback and Return of the Native!

  4. kaggsysbookishramblings says:

    What a great list! I’d be happy with about anything on it (and I have read several) – I think I’d have my fingers crossed for The Leopard!

    • Helen says:

      I’d be happy with most of them, though there are a few that I’m hoping don’t come up. I can’t wait to read The Leopard so I’ll be crossing my fingers for that one too!

  5. Margaret @ BooksPlease says:

    I have Lorna Doone and The Age of Innocence on my list too – different numbers of course!

    I’ve loaded my list with 5 of Dickens’ books, but not David Copperfield as I read that years ago! Here’s hoping we get what we want.

    • Helen says:

      I have quite a few of Dickens’ books on my Classics Club list but decided to only put one on my spin list this time. I’m not really in a Dickens mood at the moment but if David Copperfield comes up I’m prepared to give it a try!

  6. Alex says:

    I’ve just read my first Pym and loved it, so I would be cheering for that one. I certainly wouldn’t want ‘Mill on the Floss’ to turn up. of all Eliot’s work that is the one to which I have never wanted to return – too sentimental by half.

    • Helen says:

      I’ve only read one Pym novel so far – Less than Angels – but I enjoyed it and would be very happy to get Excellent Women in the spin. I’m a bit worried about Mill on the Floss now!

  7. Fleur in her World says:

    That’s a list full of wonderful possibilities. I’d pick the The Cloister and The Hearth, because I loved Griffith Gaunt by Charles Reade, or Heart of Midlothian, because I regret forgetting to put Scott on my list.

    • Helen says:

      The only book by Scott I’ve read is Ivanhoe, which I enjoyed, but I’ve never managed to get round to any of his other books yet. I can’t wait to try Charles Reade – Griffith Gaunt sounds more appealing to me, but The Cloister and the Hearth is the one I own so I should really read that one first.

  8. Brona says:

    We will share #2 if it spins up on Monday, but I’ve already done one Hardy for a previous spin, so I’m kinda hoping that something different will turn up.

    Good luck 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I would love to get Excellent Women, though I’m not sure about Vanity Fair…I do want to read it, but I think I’d prefer something shorter this time. I haven’t read any Steinbeck since I was at school, so I’m looking forward to East of Eden.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

