After the Sunday Papers #16

newspaper-clip-art-4 What a difference twenty-four hours can make! Yesterday I was walking in the sunshine at Fountains Abbey in North Yorkshire; today has seen the return of heavy rain and miserable grey skies. At least the disappointing weather has given me time to sit down and write one of my Sunday posts which were originally intended to be weekly but have become more and more sporadic. It also means I’ve had a chance to work on my Journey Through Time, which some of you may already have noticed in the menu at the top of my blog. This is really just a way for me to arrange my historical fiction reviews by period, but I’m hoping it will also eventually act as a guide for other readers who are looking for recommendations. Please have a look and let me know if this is something you find useful! So far I have put two pages together: The Wars of the Roses and The Tudors: Part 2. It may seem strange that I’ve posted Part 2 before Part 1, but Part 1 is proving to involve a lot more work so will take me a bit longer to finish.

I received some lovely new books this week courtesy of Bookbridgr. I’ve started one of them, Smiler’s Fair, and I’m looking forward to the other two.

New books Aug 2014

Smiler’s Fair by Rebecca Levene
The Vanishing Witch by Karen Maitland
Gutenberg’s Apprentice by Alix Christie

Have you read or will you be reading any of these?

Like many of you I’m waiting for the announcement of the Classics Club Spin result which will determine what my next classic read will be. There are one or two numbers that I’m particularly hoping for, but there are no books on my list that I’m actually dreading so I honestly don’t really mind which number comes up. All will be revealed tomorrow! For now, I’ll leave you with some pictures from my visit to Fountains Abbey yesterday:

Fountains Abbey 1

Fountains Abbey 2

Fountains Abbey 3

14 thoughts on “After the Sunday Papers #16

  1. Lisa says:

    Lovely pictures, thank for sharing! I don’t know anything about this Abbey, so I’ll have to look it up.

    Those are three new books (and authors) to me – so I’ll look forward to hearing more about them.

    • Helen says:

      It’s a Cistercian abbey founded in the 12th century and dissolved in the Dissolution of the Monasteries. There’s a Georgian water garden on the site too, which you can see in my third picture. Definitely worth visiting if you ever find yourself in North Yorkshire!

  2. Anbolyn Potter (@anbolynp) says:

    Great photos! I love seeing people enjoying the sun in a beautiful setting. I have a friend who absolutely loves the The Wars of the Roses era so I am going to share your page with her. I know she will be very appreciative – thank you!

  3. Alex says:

    Centuries ago an ancestor of mine was Abbot of Fountains Abbey. I have often wondered how that could be given that as a Monk he should have been celibate. I shall be generous and assume that like Brother Cadfael he had a life before going into the Monastic life 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I think what a monk should have been and what they were in reality were often two different things, if most of the novels I’ve read are anything to go by!

  4. piningforthewest says:

    Thanks for the photos of Fountains Abbey, it’s a lovely place to visit. I haven’t come across any of those books either but I do like the cover of Smiler’s Fair. I’ll be interested to read what you think of it.

    • Helen says:

      This was my second visit to Fountains Abbey and I’ve been lucky to have had nice weather both times. I love the cover of Smiler’s Fair too!

  5. Charlie says:

    Wonderful pictures, Helen, thank you for showing them to us! I think your ‘journey through time’ is an excellent idea, though I must ask what will you do with duel plot lines and time travelling? (Asking because I expect you have a good plan for those.)

    • Helen says:

      I’m glad you like the idea! If a dual timeline or time travel novel is set mainly in one period, I’ll probably include it on the relevant page for that period. Otherwise I’m thinking about creating a separate page for them.

  6. Jax says:

    I’d never heard of any of these books but am now really interested in getting my hands and eyes on Gutenberg’s Apprentice. Thanks!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

