The Classics Club Spin number is…

The Classics Club

Number 17

Last week I decided to take part in the Classics Club Spin. The rules were simple – list twenty books from your Classics Club list, number them 1 to 20, and the number announced today (Monday) represents the book you have to read before 6th October 2014.

The number that has been selected is 17, which means the book I’ll be reading is:

The Idiot

The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky

I have to admit this is not one of the titles on my list that I was hoping for, but I’m prepared to give it a try! I had a failed attempt at reading Crime and Punishment a few years ago, so I’m hoping I might have more luck with a different book.

If you took part in the spin are you happy with your result?

20 thoughts on “The Classics Club Spin number is…

  1. Alex says:

    I remember seeing Derek Jacobi in a stage version of this possibly forty years ago, but I’ve never been brave enough to try and read it. Good Luck!

    • Helen says:

      I can’t really claim to have read Dostoevsky before either, as I gave up on Crime and Punishment after a few chapters. I’m hoping I’ll have more success this time!

    • Helen says:

      This certainly wouldn’t have been my first choice, but I’m not too unhappy with it. I’m glad you got one of the books you were hoping for.

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for the advice! I’m hoping I’ll like it too once I get used to the style. I’m starting it today while I’m in the right mood. 🙂

  2. My Book Strings says:

    I hope you’ll like The Idiot, once you start reading it. I got The Charwoman’s Daughter, an Irish classic that’s rather short. I’m pretty happy with that, though I don’t know much about either the author or the book.

  3. Margaret @ BooksPlease says:

    I struggled through The Brothers Karamazov, but ended up liking it, so I hope The Idiot isn’t too bad for you. It’s the Russian names that foxed me. I got Gulliver’s Travels, a book I’ve been meaning to read for years.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

