Completed Challenge: What’s in a Name?

challenge_2014whatsinaname

I only signed up for two reading challenges at the beginning of 2014 and I’m pleased to say that I’ve now completed one of them! This was the What’s in a Name? challenge, hosted for the first time this year by Charlie of The Worm Hole.

The idea of the challenge was to read one book from each of five categories, plus an optional bonus category. The categories and the books that I read are listed below:

A reference to time:

The Midnight Rose by Lucinda Riley

A position of royalty:

Empress of the Night

Empress of the Night by Eva Stachniak

A number written in letters:

One Night in Winter

One Night in Winter by Simon Sebag Montefiore

A forename or names:

Gretel and the Dark

Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville

A type or element of weather:

Songs of Willow Frost

Songs of Willow Frost by Jamie Ford

Bonus category – A school subject:

Harristown Sisters

The True and Splendid History of the Harristown Sisters by Michelle Lovric

Thanks to Charlie for hosting this year’s challenge!

Have you read any of these books?

14 thoughts on “Completed Challenge: What’s in a Name?

  1. Lark says:

    Congratulations on completing this challenge. This is the one challenge I’m doing this year and I have 4/5 categories completed. The one I’m missing is a book with weather in the title. I just can’t seem to find one that I want to read. I might end up reading Wind in the Willows if I can’t find anything else. When was the bonus category added?

    • Helen says:

      Good luck with finishing the challenge. I struggled to find something to fit the weather category too. The bonus category was added a few months into the year, I think, because people were asking for a sixth one.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

