R.I.P. IX is here!

lavinia-portraitRIP92751

It’s the first day of September on Monday and that can only mean one thing…the start of R.I.P. (R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril), my favourite reading challenge! R.I.P. is now in its ninth year and is again hosted by Carl of Stainless Steel Droppings.

If you need a reminder, the idea of R.I.P. is to read books that fit one or more of the following categories during the months of September and October:

Mystery
Suspense
Thriller
Dark Fantasy
Gothic
Horror
Supernatural

As usual, there are different levels of participation to choose from – and I have chosen this one:

ripnineperilfirst

“Peril the First:

Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (the very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be King or Conan Doyle, Penny or Poe, Chandler or Collins, Lovecraft or Leroux…or anyone in between.”

I’m hoping to read some of the books below. I know I won’t have time to read all of these, but part of the fun of R.I.P. is compiling a list of possibilities! I find it difficult to stick to lists, though, so I might change my mind and decide to read something entirely different.

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson (The Estella Society are hosting a R.I.P. readalong)
The Mummy Case by Elizabeth Peters
The Romance of the Forest by Ann Radcliffe
Savage Magic by Lloyd Shepherd
The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo
Dark Fire by C.J. Sansom
The House by the Churchyard by Sheridan Le Fanu
Vlad: The Last Confession by C.C. Humphreys
What Angels Fear by C.S. Harris
Blood Harvest by Sharon Bolton
Bleeding Heart Square by Andrew Taylor
The Dead in their Vaulted Arches by Alan Bradley

Will you be taking part in R.I.P. this year?

20 thoughts on “R.I.P. IX is here!”

  1. Ooh, you have a lot of great books on here! I wish I still had some Flavia de Luce books to read. Maybe it’s time for some rereads! Have a fantastic RIP season. 🙂

  2. Some great sounding titles on your list. I think reading everyone else’s lists is a sure way to start changing your own. Always good fun, the RIP – enjoy!

    1. I’ve had The House by the Churchyard on my list once or twice in previous years but didn’t get round to reading it. I’m determined to find time for it this year!

  3. I think I might try this challenge this year. Don’t know what I’ll read yet, but I love R.I.P. books, and this sounds like a fun reading challenge for this time of year!

  4. What a great list of authors you have for R.I.P.! The Bradley book was my favorite yet…can’t wait until the new one comes out in March. I haven’t read Le Fanu in a long time, I should go down and pull up my collection of his to dip into for this year’s challenge.

  5. I read and reviewed Vlad: The Last Confession a few years ago,and really enjoyed it, even with all of the unsettling and vivid medieval torture scenes. It’s nice to see it in your list. I really enjoyed it and found it substantially creepy, and would agree that it would be a nice fit for the RIP Challenge. I hope you enjoy it as well!

    1. I don’t know anything about Vlad: The Last Confession but added it to my list because I read one of CC Humphreys’ other novels, Plague, a few months ago and loved it. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it despite the torture scenes!

    1. I read We Have Always Lived in the Castle for the RIP challenge a few years ago and loved it, so I’m looking forward to reading more Shirley Jackson.

  6. That looks like a really great list, Helen. Very interesting titles. I want to read “Vlad: The Last Confession”. Also “The Dead in their Vaulted Arches”.
    I just remembered I saw a trailer for a new movie, Dracula Untold, it’s going to be released this October. That would make for a fine contribution R.I.P.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

