Top Ten Tuesday: Needing to read more

I don’t normally take part in Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish), but this week’s topic is one that I’ve been thinking about a lot recently:

Top Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More

There are many, many authors I could include in this list, but I’ve decided just to concentrate on authors I’ve tried for the first time since I started book blogging. After the name of each author, I have given the title of the one book I’ve read…and of course, I would welcome any suggestions as to which books I should read next!

Life After Life

1. Kate Atkinson (Life After Life)
This was one of my favourite books read last year, so it seems ridiculous that I haven’t tried any of her others yet. I’m looking forward to starting the Jackson Brodie series.

2. Margaret Atwood (The Handmaid’s Tale)
I loved this, but I read it for “Advent with Atwood” two Decembers ago and still haven’t picked up any more of her books. That will have to change soon!

3. E.M. Forster (A Room with a View)
Early last year I participated in a “Turn of the Century Salon” reading event and decided to try two authors who were new to me. I liked both but haven’t got round to reading a second book by either of them yet. One of these authors was E.M. Forster (I think Howards End will be the next of his books I read) and the other was #4 below.

The Painted Veil 4. W Somerset Maugham (The Painted Veil)
This is another novel that found its way onto my favourite books of the year list last year, but again, I still haven’t explored Maugham’s other work. I like the sound of The Moon and Sixpence.

5. Barbara Pym (Less than Angels)
This isn’t regarded as one of Barbara Pym’s most successful books, but I did enjoy it and am expecting to love some of her others…especially Excellent Women which I really must read soon!

6. Sir Walter Scott (Ivanhoe)
I was always intimidated by the thought of reading Walter Scott, until I read Ivanhoe and found it much easier to read than I’d expected. As I do love reading classic historical fiction, I’m sure I would like Scott’s other novels too…if I could only find time to read them!

Ethan Frome7. Josephine Tey (The Daughter of Time)
I read this because of my interest in Richard III but I do want to read some of Josephine Tey’s other mystery novels eventually as well.

8. Elizabeth von Arnim (The Enchanted April)
It’s been more than three years since I read this book and I still haven’t read another von Arnim, despite stating in my review that I would “definitely be reading more”.

9. Edith Wharton (Ethan Frome)
I didn’t love Ethan Frome, but I’m hoping I’ll love one of Edith Wharton’s other novels. The House of Mirth and The Age of Innocence are both on my Classics Club list.

10. John Wyndham (The Midwich Cuckoos)
I don’t read science fiction very often, but I enjoyed this book when I read it a year ago. I think The Day of the Triffids will probably be next.

***

Do you like any of these authors? Do I need to read more of their work? What would you recommend?

40 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Needing to read more

  1. Nish says:

    This is a great selection of writers and book. If you liked The Handmaid’s Tale, try Oryx and Crake. It’s not as good as HT, but very much in the same style.

    I love E.M.Forster and Somerset Maugham. Where Angels Fear to Tread by Forster is fantastic and Maugham’s short stories are brilliant. And like you I read Ethan Frome, I liked it but not enough to try Wharton’s other stories. I’ve heard Ethan Frome is very different from her usual style so I am thinking I may like them more.

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings says:

    For Atwood I would *definitely* recommend Blind Assassin – her best, I think. Also Alias Grace is pretty amazing. Josephine Tey’s mysteries are excellent – The Franchise Affair in particular.

    • Helen says:

      Blind Assassin and Alias Grace both sound great to me. I’ll definitely try to read one or both of those as soon as I can. And I really must read more Josephine Tey!

  3. litlove says:

    Oh my goodness, you have several of my favourite authors there: Margaret Atwood, E. M. Forster, Somerset Maugham, Barbara Pym, Elizabeth von Arnim and Edith Wharton. I don’t think I’ve read a book by any of them that disappointed. It’s harder to get hold of, but The Mother’s Recompense by Edith Wharton was a wonderful book, and easier to get into in some ways than her more famous novels. I’ve think you’ve got lots of treats in store with any of the authors on your list!

    • Helen says:

      It sounds as though I have a lot to look forward to, then! I haven’t heard much about The Mother’s Recompense but I’ll certainly keep it in mind if I have trouble getting into the other two Wharton novels I’m planning to try.

  4. Mallory @ The Local Muse says:

    Oooh Great List! Atwood was on my list too. I loved the Handmaid’s Tale and want to read more, but I feel like I should wait until I have the opportunity to fully dedicate myself to the book as that is what her books usually need. So maybe over winterbreak from classes I will pick something else by her up. I love Ethan Frome and need to read more Wharton ASAP. I also need to read my first Forster and Maugham soon.

    • Helen says:

      I would definitely recommend A Room with a View for your first Forster and The Painted Veil for Maugham. I loved both and really should have read more of their books before now!

  5. Alex says:

    If you read the Jackson Brodie books then make sure you read them in order or you won’t stand an earthly of following what’s going on. Where Atwood is concerned I would suggest ‘The Blind Assassin’ as a good next step and for me the very best of John Wyndham’s works is ‘The Crysalids’.

  6. lindylit says:

    This is an interesting topic for a Tuesday. We were talking about Life After Life at work today and it has made me eager to pick it up soon as I only heard good things about it.

  7. Cat says:

    I am enjoying comparing your list with Sam’s and an imaginary one of my own. Many similarities. I recommend Wharton’s House of Mirth and Forster’s Howards End both of which I loved and are authors I want to read more of. Also can recommend Excellent Women and the Jackson Brodie series.
    The Painted Veil is now definitely on my want to read list.

    • Helen says:

      When I do try another E.M. Forster book it will probably be Howards End. For Wharton, I’ve been torn between House of Mirth and The Age of Innocence, so thanks for the recommendation!

  8. Lark says:

    You definitely need to read more Edith Wharton. Ethan Frome is my least favorite book by her and, I think, her weakest novel. House of Mirth and Age of Innocence are so much better. (And her short stories Roman Fever and Xingu are delightfully funny.)

    • Helen says:

      I think I really need to give Edith Wharton another chance! I’ll try to read either The House of Mirth or Age of Innocence soon and will keep the short stories in mind too.

  9. cloudsinthenightsky says:

    I’d suggest reading Maugham’s The Razor’s Edge. Really a fabulous book, and the main character’s journey really made me think about my own life. and Barbara Pym is always great! I think it might be time for me to start rereading her!

    • Helen says:

      I’ll think about reading The Razor’s Edge, then. Thanks for recommending it! And I can’t wait to read more Barbara Pym. If only there were more hours in the day!

  10. Tamsin | A Certain Adventure says:

    John Wyndham is great – I read Day of the Triffids first and loved it, so hopefully you will too! The Chrysalids is another brilliantly creepy/weird one. Would love to read more of Atkinson’s work too – apparently she’s bringing out a Life After Life sort-of sequel soon! x

  11. Elisabeth H. says:

    Ivanhoe is one of my favourite books of all time. I also love Edith Wharton, though I have not read Ethan Frome, just The Age of Innocence. I love your list, and I’m glad to see someone who isn’t just listing contemporary novels or YA. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for commenting. I loved Ivanhoe and definitely want to read more of Scott’s work soon. I will read more Edith Wharton eventually too, but need to decide whether it will be The House of Mirth next or The Age of Innocence!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

