Another Classics Club Spin!

The Classics Club

It’s time for another Classics Club Spin and after enjoying my last few spin books I’m quite excited about this one.

If you need a reminder, here are the rules:

* List any twenty books you have left to read from your Classics Club list.
* Number them from 1 to 20.
* Next Monday the Classics Club will announce a number.
* This is the book you need to read by 5th January.

And this is my list:

1. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
2. The Woodlanders by Thomas Hardy
3. A Country Doctor’s Notebook by Mikhail Bulgakov
4. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
5. The Vicomte de Bragelonne by Alexandre Dumas
6. The Glass-Blowers by Daphne du Maurier
7. The Sea-Hawk by Rafael Sabatini
8. Prince of Foxes by Samuel Shellabarger
9. The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
10. I, Claudius by Robert Graves
11. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym
12. Mary Anne by Daphne du Maurier
13. Bellarion by Rafael Sabatini
14. The Heart of Midlothian by Walter Scott
15. Lorna Doone by R.D. Blackmore
16. The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham
17. Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
18. The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa
19. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
20. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

I’m happier with this list than I’ve been with any of the other lists I’ve put together for the spin because I’m genuinely looking forward to reading all of those twenty books. I’m not in the right mood at the moment to try to force myself to read something I don’t really feel like reading.

Usually I stick to one book per author for my spin lists but this time I’ve included some of my favourite authors more than once.

Have you read any of these books? Which one would you be hoping for?

29 thoughts on “Another Classics Club Spin!

  1. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    I have read the Dickens, Hardy, and Graves, and would happily read them again. I have Excellent Women on my list! Happy spinning.

  2. Cedar Station says:

    What a fantastic list! Bulgakov, Pym, Wyndham and Lampedusa are on my to-read list, as well. I’m thinking about throwing Crime and Punishment on my spin list, too. Maybe I’ll put it in the same position so that we can trudge through together if it gets picked. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Crime and Punishment is probably the one I’m least looking forward to, but I did enjoy The Idiot (my last spin book), so I feel more enthusiastic about Dostoevsky than I did before.

  3. kaggsysbookishramblings says:

    That’s a lovely list – very interesting books. I would of course favour the Bulgakov and the Dostoevsky…. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I hope I get the Bulgakov – I’ve been meaning to read it for ages. I’m not sure about Crime and Punishment but I do want to give it a try after enjoying The Idiot earlier in the year.

    • Helen says:

      Thanks! I’ve enjoyed most of the other Dickens novels I’ve read, so I’ll be happy if the spin gives me either David Copperfield or Oliver Twist.

  4. Alex says:

    I love John Wyndham and would really enjoy re-reading some of his books again if I hadn’t just been forced to renounce rereading for the moment. The Day of the Triffids isn’t my favourite but it is still a tremendous novel. But then, so too is I Claudius and if you read that you can then go onto enjoy the old televised version which is rather good too.

    • Helen says:

      I loved The Midwich Cuckoos when I read it last year, so I’m looking forward to The Day of the Triffids. I’m pleased to hear a positive opinion of I Claudius as I put it on my list without really knowing much about it!

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! I loved The Master and Margarita too and am curious about Bulgakov’s other books. A Country Doctor’s Notebook sounds like a very different type of book but I’m looking forward to it.

  5. Cat says:

    I do like your list and I have Vanity Fair and Return of the Native on mine too. I’m hoping for something not too daunting for the busy season so I think the Du Mauriers or Barbara Pym would be great choices. Good luck.

  6. Fleur in her World says:

    That’s a lovely list. Excellent Women is y favourite of the ones I know, but there are lots I don’t know and would like to know more about. I hadn’t heard of Samuel Shellabarger, but I’ve looked him up now and I’m intrigued.

  7. Brona says:

    I’ve also only oicked books I really want to read this time around…as well as some of the shortest ones on my list…just to make life easier.

    Good luck:-)

    • Helen says:

      Thanks! I enjoy the spins and have had good luck with them so far, but I know they don’t work for everyone. I would love to get Excellent Women or The Leopard this time!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

