And the Classics Spin number is…

The Classics Club

Number 13

Last week I decided to take part in the Classics Club Spin. The rules were simple – list twenty books from your Classics Club list, number them 1 to 20, and the number announced today (Monday) represents the book you have to read before 5th January 2015.

The number that has been selected this time is 13, which means the book I’ll be reading is:

Bellarion

Bellarion by Rafael Sabatini

Bellarion is a historical adventure novel published in 1926 and set in 15th century Italy. This is the synopsis:

Bellarion, a young man set on joining the priesthood, is diverted from his calling to serve the Princess Valeria. He remains with her for five years, serving her faithfully despite her cold response. Yet when the time comes for him to leave, they both find that the passion and romance of Italy has left its mark…

I loved the other two Sabatini novels I’ve read (Scaramouche and Captain Blood) so I couldn’t be happier with this result!

Did you take part in the spin? What will you be reading?

20 thoughts on “And the Classics Spin number is…

  1. Cedar Station says:

    That sounds fantastic. I’ve heard great things about both of the other books you mentioned, but I’ve never heard of this one. Which one would you recommend starting with?

    I landed with Crime and Punishment. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I wasn’t familiar with Sabatini until fairly recently myself. I think Scaramouche is one of those books people tend to be aware of without knowing who wrote it.

  2. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    Fun! I got Bliss and Other Stories by Katherine Mansfield. Short stories are just right for my attention span at the moment.

  3. My Book Strings says:

    I’ve never heard of this book, and the author’s name doesn’t ring a bell either, so I’m looking forward to your review to learn more. The synopsis sounds great. I got Graham Greene’s The End of the Affair, which I wanted to read for a while now, so I am very happy with it.

  4. Alex says:

    I look forward to your thoughts on this one. I also loved Sabatini’s other 2 novels, possibly because they were impeccably read in my audio version.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

