Forgotten Histories Reading Challenge

I have been trying not to sign up for many reading challenges this year, but I really like the idea of this one – and it overlaps with the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge that I’m already taking part in.

Forgotten Histories Challenge

The Forgotten Histories Reading Challenge is hosted by Jess at Curiouser and Curiouser in partnership with Amy at Passages to the Past (the host of the Historical Fiction Challenge) and any books read can count towards both challenges.

The rules:

The challenge will run from the 2nd-29th of March and each week will feature a different theme:

Week 1 – Read an alternate history book (e.g. Dominion by C. J. Sansom)

Week 2 – Read a book with a non-white protagonist (e.g. The Queen’s Secret by Victoria Lamb)

Week 3 – Read a book with an LGBT protagonist (e.g. Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters)

Week 4 – Read a book that is NOT set in Europe (including Britain) or North America (e.g. Butterfly Swords by Jeannie Lin)

As you can see, the aim of Forgotten Histories is to encourage people to read more diversely within the historical fiction genre, which I think is a great idea. I don’t know if I’ll be able to read books from all four of these categories in March, but I’ll read as many as I can. I’m already looking at my shelves to see if I have something to fit each category – any recommendations are welcome!

13 thoughts on “Forgotten Histories Reading Challenge

  1. Jess @ Curiouser and Curiouser says:

    Yay! Thank you so much for signing up! 😀 Don’t worry if you can’t find a book for each challenge, that you’re taking part at all is fantastic. 🙂 At the start of each week of the challenge I’ll be posting a small selection of recommendations for anyone who’s not sure what to read. I can’t wait to see what you read!

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for hosting this, Jess! I’ll look out for your recommendations. I think I already have books on my TBR pile for three of the categories, but not sure about the alternate history one.

  2. mizcaledonia says:

    I thought about doing this too because I already read a lot of diverse history but a month seems too short a timeframe for me with the other stuff I have going on. Maybe next time.

    • Helen says:

      Sorry you can’t take part this time. I’m not sure I’ll have time to read four books for the challenge as I have other books I want to read in March too, but hopefully I’ll manage at least a few of the categories!

  3. daniellecobbaertbe says:

    I loved Dominion.

    For the LGBT protagonist; I really loved The Absolutist. It is set in the First World War.

    Not set in Europe: The light between the oceans is set in Australia; just after the First World War. And Shipwrecks by Akira Yoshimura is set in the middle ages of Japan and is a quick read.

    • Helen says:

      I was thinking about City of God by Cecelia Holland for the LGBT book, but I do love John Boyne so will consider The Absolutist too. I’ve read The Light Between Oceans and enjoyed it, but haven’t heard of Shipwrecks – thanks for the recommendation!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

