Looking back at February

February

February was another good month for me in terms of reading – I read eleven books and enjoyed most of them.

Peril at End House I started the month with a great book – Death in Kashmir by M. M. Kaye, an exciting and atmospheric mystery novel set in Kashmir in 1947. Although I haven’t had an opportunity to read any more yet, there are five other books in the series to look forward to. After reading this book, I was in the mood for another mystery and the one I chose was Agatha Christie’s Peril at End House. I almost guessed the solution to this one, but allowed myself to be misled by the red herrings!

I only managed to read one book from my Classics Club list this month and that was Jerome K. Jerome’s The Idle Thoughts of an Idle Fellow – a fun read (and a quick one), though not as memorable as Three Men in a Boat. I’ve also been reading another classic throughout February, which I hope to finish soon. This is Romola by George Eliot – quite a challenging book to read but I’m loving it.

Two other books I loved this month were Guy Gavriel Kay’s The Last Light of the Sun, historical fantasy based on the Viking, Anglo-Saxon and Welsh cultures, and Small Island by Andrea Levy, a novel about the experiences of Jamaican immigrants in Britain. I also continued with the third book in Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey-Maturin series, HMS Surprise, which I think is probably my favourite of the series so far. I don’t want to say too much about any of these books here as I haven’t had time to write my reviews yet.

The Vanishing WitchI also enjoyed The Royalist by S.J. Deas, the first in a series of historical mysteries set during the English Civil War – and going further back in time, I read Karen Maitland’s The Vanishing Witch, set in the 14th century at the time of the Peasants’ Revolt.

Only two of the books I read during February disappointed me slightly – they were The Widow’s Confession by Sophia Tobin, yet another mystery (I told you I’d been in a mystery-reading mood this month!) and Jakob’s Colours by Lindsay Hawdon, a book about the Romany Holocaust. Again, I haven’t had time to write about these two books yet, but will do so as soon as I can. Finally, I have just finished reading The Goddess and the Thief by Essie Fox, a novel set in the Victorian period and revolving around the fate of the Koh-i-Noor diamond.

Have you read any of these books? What did you read in February?

10 thoughts on “Looking back at February

  1. Anbolyn says:

    I haven’t read any of your February books, but they all sound fantastic in such different ways. I’ve been reading very slowly this year so haven’t finished much – The Paying Guests and The Miniaturist are the only novels I read in February.

  2. jessicabookworm says:

    I am pleased to hear you had a good reading month. 11 books is a great amount. I had a good month too finishing 6 books. I haven’t read any of these books but I am looking forward to reading Karen Maitland. Happy reading in March Helen 🙂

  3. Lisa says:

    I know I read other books in February, but looking back it all seems to be about the House of Niccolo. I’m currently reading Patrick O’Brian myself, but towards the end of the series, The Yellow Admiral – with an on-line reading group (a Dunnett off-shoot). HMS Surprise is my favorite book in the series as well. I was just looking into it yesterday, because something made me think of Stephen’s rescue & the scenes in Bath.

    • Helen says:

      I haven’t fallen in love with Patrick O’Brian’s books the way I did with Dorothy Dunnett’s, but I am enjoying them. I didn’t mean to wait so long between reading Post Captain and HMS Surprise!

  4. Cat says:

    You had a great month and I added several titles from your reviews to my TBR. I haven’t read The Vanishing Witch yet but really enjoyed KM’s earlier novels.
    Happy March reading.

    • Helen says:

      Thanks! The Vanishing Witch is the only Karen Maitland novel I’ve read. I have a copy of her new one, The Raven’s Head, but after I’ve read that I’ll go back and explore her earlier books.

  5. Charlie says:

    Great list, Helen! I haven’t read them but am considering giving Maitland a go and at some point I’ll hopefully read Romola. I read four books and found some new favourites. Hope March goes well 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Thank you. I hope March is a good month for you too. Romola is a great book – it’s not an easy read and is taking a long time to get through, but I think it’s the best book I’ve read so far this year.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

