Once Upon a Time IX

Once Upon a Time
(Art by Kimberly Kincaid)

Spring is here at last – and so is the start of this year’s Once Upon a Time reading challenge, hosted by Carl of Stainless Steel Droppings. The challenge is in its ninth year but this is the first time I’ve decided to take part.

The event runs from 21st March (today) to 21st June and involves reading books (or watching films or playing games) that encompass four categories: Fairy Tale, Folklore, Fantasy and Mythology. There are different levels of participation and as this is my first year – and these are not genres I read very often – I’m signing up for The Journey level. This is perfect for me because it means I don’t need to commit to any specific number of books, as long as I read at least one.

I already own several books that would count towards this challenge, including these:

Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb
Uprooted by Naomi Novik
Throne of Jade by Naomi Novik
Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay
River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay
Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton
Stardust by Neil Gaiman
The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness
The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Have you read any of these books?

Will you be taking part in Once Upon a Time?

11 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time IX

  1. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    I’m tempted to join this…there are so many great fantasy books I haven’t read. Of your list, I have read Throne of Jade, Tooth and Claw, and Stardust. All recommended!

  2. Pam Thomas says:

    I’m something of a fantasy fan, and Guy Gavriel Kay is one of my favourite authors – I’ve read all his books. My favourite – and in my all-time, all-genre top ten – is Tigana, but Under Heaven and River of Stars are very good. In fact, the only two on your list I haven’t read are Ship of Magic and The Book of Life. All the others are highly recommended, especially The Lies of Locke Lamora. Enjoy!

    • Helen says:

      I’ve read a few of Guy Gavriel Kay’s other books and enjoyed them all, especially Tigana. He is quickly becoming one of my favourite authors too and I’m looking forward to Under Heaven and River of Stars.

  3. writereads says:

    Thank you so much for posting this! I had no idea this was happening and I’ll be joining you in The Journey!
    I have read the Kay books and they are beautifully written historical fantasy.
    Robin Hobb is such an addictive author to read. She’s one of my faves.
    Stardust is one of the lighter, funnier Neil Gaiman books and I really enjoyed it. I suggest you watch the movie as well, if only for Robert DeNiro’s part in it šŸ™‚ -Tania

    • Helen says:

      I love both Guy Gavriel Kay and Robin Hobb, though I’ve only read a few of their books. I’m particularly excited about starting the Liveship Traders trilogy.
      Stardust will be the first Neil Gaiman book I’ve read, so I’m looking forward to it!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

