Classics Club Spin #9 – My List

The Classics Club

I love the Classics Club Spins but wasn’t sure whether to take part in this one as I know April and May are going to be busy months for me – and I’ve already started reading The Eustace Diamonds for Karen’s Anthony Trollope Bicentennial Celebration. In the end, though, I couldn’t resist joining in.

If you don’t know what the Spin involves, here are the rules:

* List any twenty books you have left to read from your Classics Club list.
* Number them from 1 to 20.
* Next Monday the Classics Club will announce a number.
* This is the book you need to read by 15th May.

And here is my list:

1. The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
2. A Country Doctor’s Notebook by Mikhail Bulgakov
3. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
4. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
5. The Vicomte de Bragelonne by Alexandre Dumas
6. Mary Anne by Daphne du Maurier
7. Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand
8. Howards End by E.M. Forster
9. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (re-read)
10. The Moon and Sixpence by W Somerset Maugham
11. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym
12. The Sea-Hawk by Rafael Sabatini
13. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
14. Prince of Foxes by Samuel Shellabarger
15. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
16. The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham
17. The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa
18. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde
19. The Glass-Blowers by Daphne du Maurier
20. The Woodlanders by Thomas Hardy

Most of these are books that I’m really looking forward to reading, or at least that I’m not dreading. I don’t need any more stress in my life at the moment! There are some that have been included on almost all of my previous Classics Spin lists and there are others I’m listing for the first time.

Now I just have to wait until Monday to find out what I’ll be reading!

19 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin #9 – My List

    • Helen says:

      I’ve noticed that quite a few bloggers, including yourself, have read The Leopard recently and loved it. I’ll be very happy if I get that one in the spin.

    • Helen says:

      Thanks – good luck to you too! I think if I get one of the longer books on my list I’ll just have to accept that I might not finish in time.

    • Helen says:

      I’m hoping for a shorter book, but if I get a long one I might just have to give myself some extra time beyond the 15th May deadline. It’s a shame we didn’t put Oliver Twist at the same number as we could have compared thoughts if that one came up!

  1. Karen K. says:

    Interesting list! I really loved Excellent Women, so I hope you get that one. I also enjoyed The Importance of Being Earnest, which is a fun, quick read. I love Du Maurier but I haven’t read either of those selections. Good luck with your spin selection!

    • Helen says:

      I would love to get The Importance of Being Earnest – something short and quick would be perfect, as I’m also going to be reading Trollope this month. 🙂 I don’t know much about either of the Du Maurier novels I’ve listed, but she’s one of my favourite authors so I would be happy with one of those too.

  2. Fleur in her World says:

    That’s a list full of lovely possibilities. I’d pick Excellent Women from the books I’d read, but I’m also love to know more about Samuel Shellabarger, so it would be lovely if his number came up.

    • Helen says:

      I bought the Samuel Shellabarger novel more than a year ago after reading a glowing review of it, but still haven’t read it. I would love that one to come up in the spin – or Excellent Women, which I’ve also been meaning to read for a long time.

  3. Cat says:

    Glad you decided to take part and hope you get something short and sweet . There seems to be quite a few of us thinking along those lines as April does have so much else happening. I agree that Excellent Women would be perfect

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

