Classics Club Spin #9: The Result

The Classics Club

Last week I decided to take part in the Classics Club Spin. The rules were simple – list twenty books from your Classics Club list, number them 1 to 20, and the number announced today (Monday) represents the book you have to read before 15th May 2015.

The number that has been selected this time is 2, which means the book I’ll be reading is:

A Country Doctors Notebook

A Country Doctor’s Notebook by Mikhail Bulgakov

I added this book to my Classics Club list because I loved The Master and Margarita and wanted to read more of Bulgakov’s work. All I know about it is that it’s a collection of short stories based on Bulgakov’s experiences as a young doctor in Russia, but I’m looking forward to reading it. I’m happy with my result as I’ve managed to avoid the longer books on my list!

Did you take part in the spin? What will you be reading?

22 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin #9: The Result

    • Helen says:

      I don’t think any of his books are very well known apart from The Master and Margarita, which I loved. This one sounded appealing to me and I’m looking forward to reading it!

    • Helen says:

      I usually prefer full length novels, but I’m already in the middle of another long classic so I think a short story collection will be perfect for me at the moment!

  1. Lisa says:

    I remember your review of the first book. I hope you enjoy this one – like Jessica, I’ll be interested to read your thoughts. I’ve never come across any of his books.

    • Helen says:

      The Master and Margarita was one of my favourite books of whichever year it was when I read it! This one sounds completely different but I’m looking forward to reading it.

    • Helen says:

      This is one that I was hoping for too! A collection of short stories will be perfect for me as I’m already in the middle of a long Trollope novel.

  2. margaretskea Author of prize winning historical novel Turn of the Tide says:

    How interesting! I read The Master and Margarita when my sister was studying it at Uni (I was 12 at the time) and I loved it. It was one of the books that has continued to live with me. Looking forward to your comments on the short stories – I haven’t read them either.

    • Helen says:

      The Master and Margarita is a great book, isn’t it? I would love to read it again, maybe in a different translation this time – but not until I’ve tried some of Bulgakov’s other work first.

  3. whatmeread says:

    Hmm, interesting choice. I hope you like it. I got Henry VI Part I by William Shakespeare. It wasn’t really my top choice, but I haven’t read it, so looking forward to it.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

