It’s the last day of June…

…and summer seems to have reached the UK at last. I’m hoping it will stay for a while as I have a week off work coming up!

JuneLooking back at my June reading, I have read eight books this month and my favourite was Sharon Bolton’s wonderful Little Black Lies. I’ve loved all of her books (apart from Blood Harvest, which is the only one I still haven’t read) but I think this one is possibly her best so far.

Cyrano de BergeracAlso in June, I decided to set myself the challenge of reading the three plays on my Classics Club list and I’m pleased to say that this was a success! I read all three and enjoyed them all, especially the last two. I’ve never had a lot of interest in reading plays in the past but I feel much more enthusiastic about them now and will choose some more to read soon. The plays I’ve read this month are:

Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe
The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde
Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand

In another attempt to tackle my out of control TBR pile, I chose ten random books from my Goodreads to-read shelf. The idea is to go through them one by one, either reading them or deciding not to read them – so that in one way or another they can be removed from my shelf. I have read one of the ten so far (Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood, which I loved and will be reviewing very soon) and I’m hoping to continue with some of the others in July.

Rebel QueenMy final three reads this month were all historical fiction, set in three very different time periods: Godwine Kingmaker by Mercedes Rochelle (Anglo-Saxon England), Rebel Queen by Michelle Moran (19th century India) and If You Go Away by Adele Parks (the First World War). I enjoyed all three of these, especially Godwine Kingmaker – my thoughts on that one will be coming soon too!

As we move into July I am still reading The Vicomte de Bragelonne by Alexandre Dumas; I’m loving it but it’s a very long book and I want to take my time with it. And because I can never just read one book at a time the way I used to, I’m also reading Linda Holeman’s The Devil on her Tongue, a novel set in 18th century Portugal. After this, I have a copy of The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins by Antonia Hodgson, the sequel to The Devil in the Marshalsea, which I can’t wait to start reading!

How has your June been? What will you be reading in July?

6 thoughts on “It’s the last day of June…”

  1. Eight books in a month! That was a very productive month, well done!
    I’m reading a lot slower this year, so many other things to do (I can’t believe I just said that, ha). I may try reading some westerns this month, I have “In the Desert” by Karl May which I bought at a book sale recently.

    1. Thanks, Delia! I hope you enjoy your reading in July. I’ve never read any westerns, apart from The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt.

  2. Sounds like another good reading month for you. I am particularly pleased you enjoyed all the plays 🙂 My June felt like a slow reading month for me but I did finished up reading my consistent 5 books. I wish you more happy reading in July 🙂

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

