The Classics Spin #10: My list

The Classics Club

Things have been very quiet over at the Classics Club lately, so I was pleased to see that a new Classics Spin was announced yesterday!

Here is a reminder of the rules:

* List any twenty books you have left to read from your Classics Club list.
* Number them from 1 to 20.
* On Monday the Classics Club will announce a number.
* This is the book you need to read by 23rd October.

And here is my list:

1. Shirley by Charlotte Bronte
2. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
3. The Woodlanders by Thomas Hardy
4. The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa
5. The Glass-Blowers by Daphne du Maurier
6. The Master of Ballantrae by Robert Louis Stevenson
7. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
8. The Romance of the Forest by Ann Radcliffe
9. Louise de la Valliere by Alexandre Dumas
10. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
11. The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
12. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym
13. East of Eden by John Steinbeck
14. The Sea-Hawk by Rafael Sabatini
15. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
16. Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset
17. Prince of Foxes by Samuel Shellabarger
18. The Cloister and the Hearth by Charles Reade
19. Mary Anne by Daphne du Maurier
20. Howards End by E.M. Forster

I think I’ll be happy with most of these (though I’m not sure about Steinbeck and if I get Kristin Lavransdatter I might need to forget about the deadline date). I’m particularly hoping for one of the du Maurier or Hardy novels, Prince of Foxes, The Sea-Hawk or The Leopard.

Have you read any of these books? And are you taking part in the spin?

15 thoughts on “The Classics Spin #10: My list”

    1. I’ve been wanting to read both The Leopard and The Cloister and the Hearth for years but can never seem to get round to it. I’d be very happy if I get either of those on Monday!

  1. I have seen good reviews of The Leopard so I will be interested in your thoughts if you get that. Thomas Hardy and Barbara Pym big favourites of mine of course. 😊

  2. Some fabulous choices on your list. Mary Anne was my first du Maurier – I loved the mix of bio and fiction. Excellent Women, is excellent, of course!
    I went through an EM Forster phase in my twenties (when Merchant Ivory seemed to be turning them all into movies). Howards End was not my favourite, but I’m glad I read (& watched) it.

    Happy Spinning!

    1. The only EM Forster novel I’ve read is A Room with a View, but I enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading more of his books. I’m glad to hear you loved Mary Anne!

  3. So many great books on your list! I loved Excellent Women and Oliver Twist; and Return of the Native is on my list also. Someone else in the Spin had The Glassblowers on their list, so I’m intrigued. Good luck with your spin pick!

    1. I love Thomas Hardy so I’ll be very pleased if I get Return of the Native. The Glass-Blowers is a du Maurier novel I don’t know much about, but I’ve enjoyed everything else I’ve read by her so I have high hopes for that one too!

    1. I’ve read most of Daphne du Maurier’s books too, but there are a few I still haven’t read, including Mary Anne and The Glass-blowers. I would love to get one of those two in the spin – or maybe one of the Hardy novels.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

