It’s time for R.I.P. X

rip10300Banner by Abigail Larson

R.I.P. (R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril) is one of my favourite reading events. I have taken part in it every year since 2010, with varying levels of success, and it’s now something I automatically associate with the beginning of September and the shortening of the days. The challenge has previously been hosted by Carl of Stainless Steel Droppings but this year (the 10th anniversary) it is being hosted by someone else: Andi and Heather of The Estella Society.

As usual, the idea of R.I.P. is that during the months of September and October we will be reading books that fit one or more of the following categories:

Mystery
Suspense
Thriller
Dark Fantasy
Gothic
Horror
Supernatural

There are different levels of participation to choose from, but I am signing up for this one:

ripnineperilfirst

Peril the First: Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (the very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be King or Conan Doyle, Penny or Poe, Chandler or Collins, Lovecraft or Leroux…or anyone in between.

Part of the fun of R.I.P. is making a list of books you could read. I don’t expect to read all of these – and I usually find that once I’ve made a list I end up wanting to read something else entirely – but here are a few possibilities.

From my Classics Club list:
The Romance of the Forest by Ann Radcliffe

For my TBR Project:
The Bones of Avalon by Phil Rickman

Next in a series:
The Mummy Case by Elizabeth Peters
Sovereign by CJ Sansom
The Lady of Sorrows by Anne Zouroudi
The Dead in their Vaulted Arches by Alan Bradley

First in a series:
What Angels Fear by CS Harris
The Queen’s Man by Sharon Penman

Books left over from previous R.I.P. lists:
Blood Harvest by Sharon Bolton
Bleeding Heart Square by Andrew Taylor
Ten Second Staircase by Christopher Fowler
Savage Magic by Lloyd Shepherd

~

Are you taking part in R.I.P. this year? What will you be reading?

10 thoughts on “It’s time for R.I.P. X”

  1. I am also taking part Helen, but I can’t quite believe how quickly it seems to have come round! I’ve made a list of books I would like to read too. Although I doubt I could read them all. I am off to good start already as my result for the Classics Club spin was The Valley of Fear by Arthur Conan Doyle.

  2. Do read ‘Blood Harvest’. I’ve just finished Bolton’s latest novel ‘Little Black Lies’ and I can heartily recommend anything she writes. ‘Bleeding Heart Square’ is one of Taylor’s best as well.

    1. I think Blood Harvest is the only one of Bolton’s novels I haven’t read yet. I loved all of her others, including Little Black Lies which I thought was one of her best. I love Andrew Taylor too and have been meaning to read Bleeding Heart Square for years!

  3. I was thinking of having taking a break from R.I.P but I suspect I’ll be drawn in by so many lovely possibilities. I loved ‘Bleeding Heart Square’, and you remind me that I’ve been meaning to read more by Christopher Fowler and Ann Radcliffe.

  4. I was also thinking of taking a break – since I didn’t manage to meet my goal last year, or really any reading goal since. But I can’t help resist putting together a list….

    I’d be interested to see what you think of the C.S. Harris book.

    1. I didn’t meet my goal for the R.I.P. challenge last year either, but I’m hoping to do better this year. I’ve been meaning to read the CS Harris book for a long time so I’m going to make that one a priority!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

