August Reading Summary

August I still haven’t come up with a better format for my monthly round-up posts but hopefully I’ll have thought of something different by the end of September. For now, I’m posting my usual summary of the month’s reading.

I started August with 1066: What Fates Impose by G.K. Holloway, a novel which, as you can probably guess, follows the events leading up to the Battle of Hastings and the Norman Conquest of 1066. This is a fascinating period of history and, later in the month, I had the pleasure of reading Gildenford, the first in Valerie Anand’s Norman trilogy. I have now read enough books set in this period to be able to compile a list of Pre-Conquest England and House of Normandy suggestions in the Journey Through Time section of my blog. Please feel free to comment on that list with any more recommendations.

George Gissing - The Odd WomenI didn’t make much progress with my Classics Club list in August, only reading one classic – The Odd Women by George Gissing – but that one counted towards my Ten from the TBR Project too, so I’m pleased with that! Another book read for the TBR Project was The Thief of Time by John Boyne. I do love Boyne, but this particular book isn’t one of his best and I was slightly disappointed by it. I also found The Raven’s Head by Karen Maitland a bit disappointing – after a wonderful start the story just didn’t hold my attention. I will read more by both Boyne and Maitland, though, and will hope for better luck with my next choices.

The other three novels I read last month were excellent and certainly didn’t disappoint me at all! The first of these was The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins, Antonia Hodgson’s sequel to The Devil in the Marshalsea, an entertaining mystery novel set in Georgian London. The other two, Kit by Marina Fiorato, and The Old Man’s Birthday by Richmal Crompton, have not been reviewed here yet so I won’t say any more about them. Finally, I read one work of non-fiction: She-Wolves by Helen Castor, which looks at the lives of Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France and Margaret of Anjou. I don’t read non-fiction very often but I did enjoy this book.

Looking ahead to September…

The Glass-BlowersAs September begins, I am in the middle of three books – The Heart of Mid-Lothian by Sir Walter Scott, Glorious Apollo by E. Barrington and April Lady by Georgette Heyer. After I finish those, I will be reading my Classics Spin book, The Glass-Blowers by Daphne du Maurier and I would also like to read a few books in September for the R.I.P Challenge. I posted a list of possible R.I.P. reads yesterday and am already being tempted by other books not on my list!

How was your August? Do you have any plans for September?

16 thoughts on “August Reading Summary

  1. Anbolyn says:

    It sounds like you had a bit of excellent and a bit of just okay in August. I’ve wanted to read The Devil in the Marshalsea for a while now as I love the Georgian period. I’m glad the second in the series turned out to be good – something to look forward to!

  2. jessicabookworm says:

    With my time off from work I managed to read more books than usual, although not as many as you! I am also looking forward to reading some suitably gothic and mysterious books for the R.I.P event in September. Happy reading in September Helen 🙂

  3. Charlie says:

    Glad you had a good August, and one book off your classics club list is better than none 🙂 I haven’t read it but du Maurier…. great spin result. I love that you have a Norman period recommendation list! I’ve a vague reading plan for September, not nearly as organised as you!

    • Helen says:

      My Norman list is quite short at the moment but hopefully will continue to grow. I’m not sure why I was never interested in that period until now…it’s fascinating! And yes, I was very pleased to get du Maurier in the Classics Spin. 🙂

  4. Alex says:

    Thanks for the timely reminder that I must get hold of a copy of the new Hodgson. I enjoyed the first one and it’s good to know that this doesn’t suffer from the dreaded second novel syndrome.

  5. buriedinprint says:

    I don’t read a lot of non-fiction either, but She Wolves looks like one that I would enjoy as well. In September I am looking forward to the new Margaret Atwood novel and some RIP reads, like you, which will be fine indeed. Have just dipped my toe into a Ruth Rendell, but only a few pages so far!

  6. margaretskea Author of prize winning historical novel Turn of the Tide says:

    I loved the du Maurier one – I think you’ll enjoy that. As for me – no reading at all in August and probably none until next week due to preparing book for publication (15th october is publication date, but once it’s at the printers next week I can relax and enjoy a read. Dacre’s War by Rosemary Goring is sitting staring at me from beside my desk.

    • Helen says:

      I’ve loved all of the other du Maurier novels I’ve read, so I’m looking forward to The Glass-Blowers. I hope you enjoy Dacre’s War – and good luck with your new book!

  7. Alex (Sleepless Reader) says:

    August was my worst reading month of the year so far, followed closely by July. While everyone seems to read a lot during holiday, I never do, especially now with a very active toddler. Gone are the days of calmly reading a book at the beach or in the afternoons right before a nap…

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

