Upcoming reading events

A More Diverse Universe 2015

Beginning today, Aarti of BookLust is hosting A More Diverse Universe, her annual reading event designed to encourage people to read more diversely. There’s still plenty of time to join in – the sign-up post is here and you’ll find lots of suggestions and recommendations on Aarti’s blog.

I’m currently reading A God in Every Stone by Kamila Shamsie, which I chose because it was also on the shortlist for the Walter Scott Prize this year (I am slowly working my way through all of the shortlisted titles since the prize began). Two other books I’ve been considering reading are Flood of Fire by Amitav Ghosh and The Japanese Lover by Isabel Allende. I haven’t read anything by Allende before but received a review copy of The Japanese Lover through NetGalley and am looking forward to trying it. Flood of Fire is the third book in Ghosh’s Ibis Trilogy and I enjoyed the previous two when I read them earlier this year.

1924-club

The 1924 Club is being hosted by Karen of Kaggsy’s Bookish Ramblings and Simon of Stuck in a Book and the idea is for everyone to read and review books originally published in 1924. I was sure I must have something on my shelves from that year, so I had a look and found two books: Precious Bane by Mary Webb and Beau Geste by P.C. Wren. I’m going to try to read both of those for the club – I think I’ll probably enjoy Beau Geste and I’m curious about Precious Bane, having seen very mixed opinions of it!

Simon and Karen (and others) have provided plenty of other suggestions: it seems that a lot of great books were published in 1924 and I’ll look forward to seeing what everyone chooses to read.

Witch Week

From October 31 to November 6, Lory of The Emerald City Book Review will be celebrating Witch Week. Her theme this year is New Tales from Old, which involves reading fiction based on fairy tales, folklore, myths and legends – not necessarily including witches! I’m thinking of reading The Last Enchantment, the third of Mary Stewart’s Arthurian novels. Lory will also be hosting a readalong of The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter, though I won’t be taking part as I’ve already read it.

German Literature Month

November is also German Literature Month at Beauty is a Sleeping Cat and Lizzy’s Literary Life. This event is now in its fifth year but it will be the first time I’ve participated. I haven’t decided what to read yet, but I do have two Hans Fallada books on my TBR (Wolf Among Wolves and Once a Jailbird) as well as Death in Venice by Thomas Mann. There will also be some themed weeks and readalongs throughout the month of November.

Will you be taking part in any of these events?Ā  Do you know what you’ll be reading?

21 thoughts on “Upcoming reading events”

    1. I haven’t read many German novels so I’m looking forward to the German lit month. I wanted to take part last year but didn’t get organised in time.

    1. I probably don’t really have time for all of these events either, especially as I’m still reading my Classics Spin book as well, but I’m going to do my best!

    1. It does seem that there are a lot of reading events and challenges all taking place at the same time! I hope you enjoy your 1924 and German choices.

  1. There are so many great events converging at this time! Obviously I’m participating in Witch Week, and I’m also planning to read a German translation (I have the fairy tales of Hermann Hesse on my shelf) and a 1924 book (The Constant Nymph). For A More Diverse Universe I have my eye on Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho. I don’t know if I’ll be able to post about any of these during the allotted time, but I enjoy the companionship of reading others’ posts in the same vein anyway.

    1. The 1924 Club is a great idea, isn’t it? I read The Constant Nymph last year and enjoyed it – I hope you do too! I’m looking forward to Witch Week. šŸ™‚

  2. I’m reading a book for Diverseverse right now, and I’m hoping to squeeze in some German literature as well. I’d love to do Witch Week as well, but I don’t think I have time for it. šŸ˜¦
    Have fun reading!

    1. There are so many great reading events taking place at the moment it can be difficult to fit them all in. I hope you enjoy the ones you’re joining in with!

  3. I haven’t got time at the moment to join in with any of these. I have, however, just come in from a discussion of Kamila Shamsie’s earlier novel, ‘Burnt Shadows’, which I think is possibly better than ‘A God in Every Stone’, so if you haven’t read it you might want to add that to your list as well.

    1. I chose A God in Every Stone because it would also count towards my ‘Reading the Walter Scott Prize’ project, but I’m enjoying it and would definitely like to try Kamila Shamsie’s earlier novels. I’ll make Burnt Shadows the next one I read.

  4. I would love to read The Japanese Lover by Isabel Allende, but I don’t want to pay full price for it. I guess I can wait and see if the price drops some.

  5. I’m joining all but the Witches. Read Marquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude and a graphic novel by a Ivory Coast writer for Divesiverse, will read classic short-stories for the German Month and Neruda’s “Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair” for 1924. Fun!

    1. I hadn’t thought about reading poetry for the 1924 event. That should be interesting. Reading short stories for the German Month sounds like a good idea too!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

