The Classics Spin #11: My list

The Classics Club

I was just thinking yesterday that it’s been a while since the last Classics Spin, so I’m pleased to see that another one has been announced today! It’s hard to believe that this is the eleventh Spin – I think I’ve taken part in all but one of them and have been very lucky with most of my results.

Here is a reminder of the Spin rules:

* List any twenty books you have left to read from your Classics Club list.
* Number them from 1 to 20.
* On Monday the Classics Club will announce a number.
* This is the book you need to read by 1 February 2016

And here is my list:

1. Shirley by Charlotte Brontë
2. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
3. Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell
4. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
5. Mary Anne by Daphne du Maurier
6. East of Eden by John Steinbeck
7. The Heir of Redclyffe by Charlotte M. Yonge
8. The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa
9. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë (re-read)
10. Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
11. Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset
12. Louise de la Valliere by Alexandre Dumas
13. The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
14. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne
15. The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot
16. I, Claudius by Robert Graves
17. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym
18. The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham
19. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë (re-read)
20. The Woodlanders by Thomas Hardy

I have been making good progress with my Classics Club list recently and I’ve found it much easier to choose twenty titles for the Spin now that I have fewer books left to read.

The odd numbers on my Spin list are books by women and will count towards the Women’s Classic Literature Event which I’m participating in. I would be happy to get any of those numbers, particularly one of the Brontë re-reads as I just never seem to be able to find time to re-read my favourite books anymore. The even numbers on my list are by male authors and again, I think I’d be happy with any of them. I’ve included some very long books, but I’m not too worried as I’ll have until February to read them.

Will you be taking part in the Spin? Are there any numbers you think I should be hoping for?

26 thoughts on “The Classics Spin #11: My list

  1. whatmeread says:

    This is a good list. Congratulations for finding as many woman authors as men. I was trying to do something like that but wasn’t able to think of as many. I think if I did the list now, I’d have a bunch more I’d like to read. I’m looking forward to finishing my list so I can start another one.

    • Helen says:

      I still have a lot of reading to do before I’ll be finished with my Classics Club list, but I’m already starting to think about what to put on the next one. 🙂

  2. kaggsysbookishramblings says:

    That’s a great list. There’s some there I’ve read and some not, and I think I’d be very happy to pick up any of them!

  3. piningforthewest says:

    That is a good list. I’ve read ten of them. Jane Eyre, I adored as a teenager, also The Woodlanders and The Mill on the Floss. From the ones I haven’t read I think I would be hoping for East of Eden.

    • Helen says:

      I loved Jane Eyre as a teenager too and am looking forward to reading it again. I’m curious to see what I’ll think of East of Eden as I didn’t like Steinbeck when I read him at school. Tastes change over time, though, and I’m happy to give him another chance.

  4. Karen K. says:

    Wives and Daughters and House of Mirth are two of my all-time favorites, I hope you get one of those! I also loved Excellent Women. I like how you alternated male and female authors.

    I’m currently reading two selections from my CC list (one on audio and one print) and after that, I’m down to the last 11! I’m already thinking about my next list!

    • Helen says:

      I’m looking forward to Wives and Daughters as I’ve enjoyed everything else I’ve read by Elizabeth Gaskell. I would love to get Excellent Women too. Good luck with finishing your last 11 books!

  5. TJ @ MyBookStrings says:

    Interesting list! I only know 3 of your titles, but most of the other ones are books I’d like to read as well. I wish I could leave my list alone and just finish it, but I keep tinkering with it. I’m in the process of redoing it to have an equal number of men and women on there. I’m hoping that the Women’s Classic Literature event will be a good motivation for me to get a lot of female authors read next year.

  6. jessicabookworm says:

    How clever that you’ve split your list into male authors and then female authors, that will count towards the Women’s Classic Literature Event. I also have a couple of books on my list by some female authors for the event that I would love to get. Good luck on Monday 🙂

    • Helen says:

      Thank you. I would like to get one of the books by a female author so that I can make some progress with the Women’s Classic Literature Event, but I think I’ll be quite happy with any of the books on my list this time.

  7. Cleo @ Classical Carousel says:

    The House of Mirth would be my favourite, but you have so many great titles, any choice would be a good read. The Leopard seems to be popping up alot lately ….. I should try to get to that one soon, even if it’s not on my list. And who could go wrong with Jane Eyre …. that’s one of my top favourite. Best of luck on your spin!

    • Helen says:

      So far the only book I’ve read by Edith Wharton is Ethan Frome, so I’m looking forward to trying more of her work. I’ve noticed a lot of people reading and reviewing The Leopard recently too – I love the sound of it and would be very happy to get that one in the spin.

  8. Margaret @ BooksPlease says:

    I’ve got The Mill on the Floss and Wives and Daughters on my list too. I’ve read some of the other books on your list and loved Vanity Fair, Mary Anne (many years ago, would like to re-read it), I, Claudius, Jane Eyre (a few times) and The Woodlanders (lovely book). Good luck with the Spin!

  9. Jillian says:

    3, 5, 6, 13, or 19! Is what I wish for you! Good luck!! (I echo some others above. The House of Mirth is one of the best books I’ve read.)

    • Helen says:

      Thanks Jillian. I didn’t really like Ethan Frome, which is the only Edith Wharton book I’ve read so far, but I’m hoping for better luck with The House of Mirth.

  10. Christy says:

    I read East of Eden last month and really enjoyed it. I had only read Of Mice and Men previously, which I remember as being fine, but East of Eden has a different energy.

    Wives and Daughters was also excellent – I read that last year for the CC.

    • Helen says:

      The only Steinbeck I’ve read so far is his novella, The Pearl, which I didn’t really like, but I’m sure I’ll enjoy his other books more. I can’t wait to see what I think of East of Eden.

  11. Brona says:

    Mary Anne was my first Du Maurier and is probably still my favourite (although My Cousin Rachel was pretty wonderful too).
    East of Eden is also my favourite Steinbeck.
    And Day of the triffids is great old-fashioned cosy sci-fi. Love it!

    Happy spin

    • Helen says:

      I’ve enjoyed most of the other du Maurier novels I’ve read, so I have high hopes for Mary Anne and am pleased to hear it’s your favourite. 🙂

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

