Historical Fiction Reading Challenge 2016

2016 HF Reading Challenge Button 2 One thing I have learned in more than six years of blogging is that the only type of reading challenges I actually like taking part in are the ones that aren’t really ‘challenges’ at all! That’s why the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge hosted by Passages to the Past is perfect for me. I never have any trouble completing it as I already read so much historical fiction anyway, but I still enjoy linking my reviews to the monthly challenge posts and seeing what other participants have been reading. It’s a great way to discover new historical fiction novels and readers.

The challenge runs from January 1st to December 31st 2016 and there are six different levels to choose from:

20th Century Reader – 2 books
Victorian Reader – 5 books
Renaissance Reader – 10 books
Medieval – 15 books
Ancient History – 25 books
Prehistoric – 50+ books

Any type of historical fiction is accepted including sub-genres such as Historical Romance, Historical Mystery, Historical Fantasy and Young Adult.

I’ll be joining at the Prehistoric level again. In 2015 I read 72 historical fiction novels (you can see the list of titles here) so I’ll be aiming for 50+ books again this year.

I’ll be keeping track of my progress on this page.

If you’re interested in joining the challenge too, please see the sign-up post at Passages to the Past!

7 thoughts on “Historical Fiction Reading Challenge 2016

  1. jessicabookworm says:

    I am the same as you Helen! I generally pick challenges that suit my reading, and well done for last year – 72 historical fictions is amazing!! I always like the look of this challenge but I think I’ve already joined up for enough for this year already. Happy historical reading in 2016 🙂

  2. Lark says:

    This is definitely NOT a challenge for you…more like fun. 🙂 I could probably easily do the Renaissance Reader…but I’ve already signed up for two other challenges, and two is enough for me. I want to leave room in my reading for whimsy and serendipity this year, too. Good luck with this challenge! (Not that you need it.)

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

