Ten Reading Resolutions for 2016

It’s been a while since I last took part in Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) but this week’s topic is one I was going to post about anyway: my plans and resolutions for 2016.

Top Ten Tuesday

1. Make more time for re-reads. Only one of my 2015 books was a re-read (Jane Eyre, which I haven’t written about yet) and this makes me feel sad because I used to get so much enjoyment from reading my favourite books over and over again. I’m not going to set a target in terms of numbers, but I do want to re-read more than just one book this year!

2. Make progress with my Classics Club list. My target date for finishing my list is 10th March 2017 and I still have 32/100 books to read, so I really need to make a lot of progress this year. I will be going through the list to see if I still actually want to read all of the books on it and might decide to make some changes (one thing I like about the Classics Club is that you don’t need to stick rigidly to your original list and can add or remove books at any time).

3. Read books towards the Women’s Classic Literature Event. There’s some overlap here with my previous resolution, as this is an event hosted by the Classics Club. I already read three women’s classics towards the end of 2015, but there are a lot more that I’m hoping to read in 2016.

4. Continue to work through the series that I’m in the middle of reading. I’m very good at starting them but not so good at remembering to continue with them. Some of the many series I would like to make progress with in 2016 include the Aubrey/Maturin series by Patrick O’Brian, Amelia Peabody by Elizabeth Peters, Temeraire by Naomi Novik, Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes by Laurie R King, The Accursed Kings by Maurice Druon, Shardlake by CJ Sansom and the Pallisers by Anthony Trollope.

5. Continue to work on my own projects i.e. Ten from the TBR and Reading the Walter Scott Prize. I have found that ‘challenges’ don’t really work for me (the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge is the only one I’ve signed up for this year, apart from the Women’s Classic Literature Event) and I like to allow myself plenty of time and flexibility, so I’m happier with my own personal projects, for which I haven’t set any deadlines.

6. Read the books that I really want to read! There are a lot of books that I’ve been wanting to read for years and am sure I’m going to love, but that I’ve been avoiding reading because I’m ‘saving them for later’ or ‘want to have something to look forward to’. I’m aware of how silly this is, so 2016 is going to be the year I finally read those long-anticipated books!

7. Be more ruthless about abandoning books I’m not enjoying. Sometimes I can tell almost immediately that a book is not for me, but sometimes I’m not sure and decide to keep going in the hope that it will get better – and then even when it doesn’t improve I still struggle on to the end.

8. Try to take more notes while reading. Even if I write about a book immediately after finishing it, I often struggle to remember exactly what I wanted to say about it. Better note-taking would definitely help, but once I become swept away by a good book I don’t like having to interrupt the flow of my reading. I’m not sure what to do about this but will give it some thought.

9. Continue trying to blog regularly, but don’t worry if I ‘get behind’ or if I don’t manage to post as often as I would like to. The focus of my blog in 2016 will still be books and reading and I will still be aiming to write about every book I read (as the original purpose of my blog was to keep a record of my reading). I will be continuing with my monthly Historical Musings posts this year as I enjoy writing them and I think we’ve had some good discussions in the comment sections. I’ve also settled on a new format for my end-of-month summary posts which I think will be more interesting for me to write and for you to read!

10. Try to make every book I read a potential favourite book of the year. I know this won’t realistically happen, but it’s what we would all like, isn’t it? Hopefully Resolutions 1-7 will help with this!

Do you have any resolutions for 2016?

27 thoughts on “Ten Reading Resolutions for 2016

    • Helen says:

      I have a lot of women’s classics still to read on my Classics Club list, so that will help with both Resolutions 2 and 3. I’ll look forward to seeing what you read for the event too. 🙂

  1. whatmeread says:

    I have backed off from joining some challenges lately because of some of your points. I feel like I am always having to read a book for a book club or some other reason rather than the books I want to read. I also need to make better progress on my Classics Club list and the Walter Scott list. I have read several more Walter Scotts but haven’t posted my reviews yet.

  2. Melinda says:

    I definitely need to make an effort to take more notes when I’m reading. There are so many times, when I go back and re-read a published review I’ve done, that I remember everything that I meant to say but forgot to include!

  3. Alex says:

    Better note taking is definitely on my list. It is so frustrating to sit down to write a review only to discover that you haven’t made a record of which page that particular quote you needed was on.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, it’s very frustrating and that’s why I very rarely manage to include quotes in my reviews. I must get into the habit of noting down the page numbers.

  4. Fariba says:

    Yes for #1! I definitely want to reread more books this year. I do reread a lot but I haven’t reread the books I read in the past couple of years since I started blogging because I already wrote reviews for those books. I find that blogging sometimes discourages me to reread. It’s a silly hang-up I need to get over.

    • Helen says:

      Blogging is definitely the reason why I haven’t been re-reading as much as I used to. There are books that I’ve read since I started my blog six years ago that I would love to read again, but as I’ve already reviewed them I feel that I should only be reading ‘new’ books. I hope we can both find a way to get over this!

  5. Lark says:

    I like your resolution #10. I hope for that kind of reading year, too. And why is it so hard to make time for rereading? I used to reread my favorite books all the time, and now I hardly ever do…I’m just not sure why.

    • Helen says:

      I blame book blogging for introducing me to so many tempting new books and authors that I just haven’t had time for re-reads recently! Discovering new books is fun, of course, but I’m determined that I’m going to return to some old favourites this year too.

  6. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    I’m another one who would like to re-read more. I have all these books sitting around because I wanted to read them again someday after all! And I hope you are able to make your Classics Club goal work for you. Two years after I joined, I’m thinking of changing how I do my classics reading — I’m feeling somewhat limited by my list, so I’m thinking of making it more free-form. I wish you all the best with all of these goals and hope they lead to much satisfaction and enjoyment in your reading.

    • Helen says:

      My Classics Club list is very different now from the list I originally started with! There were a lot of books that I wanted to read four years ago which just don’t appeal to me anymore.

  7. Lisa says:

    I really like these resolutions, particularly #7. That’s something I’ve been trying to work on, setting books aside that I’m not enjoying, rather than feeling like I have to plow through them to the end.

    My main resolution this year is to get the TBR number down to 100.

    • Helen says:

      I’m determined not to waste time on books I’m not enjoying this year. It doesn’t make sense when my TBR is so big. Good luck with getting yours down to 100!

  8. Jo says:

    All resolutions are tough, especially reading ones. I would love to join lots of challenges but all I want to do is just read for enjoyment. Which is why I have yet to catch up with The Storm Sister, I get worried I am not reading enough!

    Although I have already abandoned one book this year, so at least I am trying to not read on when the book is not doing anything for me.

    I look forward to reading what you have chosen this year, I always come away with more to add to my list!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

