Classics Spin – The Result

On Friday I mentioned that I was taking part in the latest Classics Spin. The idea of the Spin was to list twenty books from my Classics Club list, number them 1 to 20, and the number announced today (Monday) represents the book I have to read before 1st August 2016.

The number that has been selected by the Classics Club this time is #15, which means the book I’ll be reading is:

Prince of Foxes

Prince of Foxes by Samuel Shellabarger

This is what the book is about:

Prince of Foxes, set in Renaissance Italy, is the fast-paced, suspenseful story of Andrea Orsini, a peasant boy who rises far and becomes a secret agent for the cunning and powerful Cesare Borgia, who entrusts him with the most delicate political, military and romantic missions. It is a classic of American popular fiction. When first published in the mid-twentieth century, it became an instant best-seller and was turned into a hit movie with Orson Welles cast as Borgia and Tyrone Power as Orsini.

One of the things I like about the Classics Club is that each individual member can decide how they want to define a classic. As well as conventional classics, my own list also includes modern classics, ‘forgotten’ classics, and books like this one, which are classic historical fiction. I’m very pleased that the spin has chosen Prince of Foxes for me as I’ve had a copy on my shelf for a long time and have just never managed to get round to reading it. I’ll do my best to read and review it sometime in June or July, but I want to finish Kristin Lavransdatter, my book from the previous spin, first!

Have you read this book? If you took part in the classics spin too, are you happy with your result?

18 thoughts on “Classics Spin – The Result

  1. piningforthewest says:

    I’ve never even heard of that book, or the author. I’ll be very interested to read what you think of it. I got Kafka’s The Castle, a very difficult read I believe, but I’ve had a copy of it for donkey’s years so it’s time I got around to it.

    • Helen says:

      I hadn’t heard of it myself until just a few years ago when I read such a glowing review I had to add it to my list immediately! Good luck with The Castle. πŸ™‚

    • Helen says:

      There are over 1,100 pages in the edition I have. It’s also the sort of book you really need to concentrate on, so it’s not a quick or easy read at all!

  2. FictionFan says:

    What an interesting choice! I do like when ‘classic’ is extended out to include stuff that’s a little off the beaten track, and this book sounds intriguing. I look forward to your review… πŸ™‚

  3. Anbolyn Potter (@anbolynp) says:

    I’ve never heard of this book, either, but it sounds intriguing! I didn’t do an “official” list on my blog, but if I go by what was on my list the last time I did the Spin then I’ll read Black Narcissus by Rumer Godden.

    • Helen says:

      I would love to read Black Narcissus. I’ll have to remember Rumer Godden when I start to put my second Classics Club list together. πŸ™‚

  4. Jane @ Beyond Eden Rock says:

    I’ve seen this book on your spin list before and been curious so I’m delighted its number came up this time. I hope that you’ll like it, and that maybe you’ll inspire me to pick up Kristin’s story again.

  5. Alex says:

    Never heard of it, but it sounds like the type of thing I might like. Looking forward to your thoughts. I read the first volume of Kristin Lavransdatter,, but was never really curious about the other two…

    • Helen says:

      I’ve just started the final volume of Kristin Lavransdatter, so the end is finally in sight! I’m enjoying it but feel as if I’ve been reading it forever.

  6. whatmeread says:

    I hadn’t heard of that book. I’m interested to see what you will think of it. I got The True Heart by Sylvia Townsend Warner. I haven’t read anything by her before.

    • Helen says:

      It seems that most people haven’t heard of this book, so I’m very pleased to hear you read it and loved it! Renaissance Italy is one of my favourite periods to read about, so I’m looking forward to it.

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

