Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Autumn TBR list

Top Ten Tuesday

I don’t usually like to make reading lists for myself but as there are so many books I want or need to get through in the next few months, I thought I would join in with this week’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) and have listed ten of them below. There’s some overlap here with my RIP XI list and other personal reading projects.

~

From NetGalley – I have a lot of unread books on my NetGalley shelf which I really should read as soon as I can, but these two are published in October so I’m making them a priority.

magpie-murders

1 – Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

days-without-end

2 – Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

~

Review copies

the-shoguns-queen

3 – The Shogun’s Queen by Lesley Downer

the-plague-charmer

4 – The Plague Charmer by Karen Maitland

the-shadow-sister

5 – The Shadow Sister by Lucinda Riley

~

For the 1947 Club – hosted by Karen and Simon (10-16 October)

the-labours-of-hercules

6 – The Labours of Hercules by Agatha Christie

~

For Ali’s Woolfalong:

a-room-of-ones-own

7 – A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf

~

For Witch Week – hosted by Lory from October 31 – November 6.

something-wicked-this-way-comes

8 – Something Wicked this Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

~

For the Classics Club – I would like to read more than one book from my Classics Club list between now and winter, but the book below is one I’ve been putting off reading and I’m hoping that including it here will give me some motivation.

east-of-eden

9 – East of Eden by John Steinbeck

~

Because I love this author – and can’t wait to read his new book.

conclave

10 – Conclave by Robert Harris

~

Have you read any of these? Which books are on your autumn/fall TBR?

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my Autumn TBR list

  1. calmgrove says:

    Just did the Bradbury for Lory’s readalong, commenting as I went along, and found it surprisingly uplifting. Sad to say, I haven’t yet tackled the classics you mention …

  2. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    I just finished Something Wicked This Way Comes, preparing for the readalong. (So glad you’re joining!) It wasn’t my usual thing, but I am glad that I finally read it. And I have read A Room of One’s Own long, long ago in school, but I should really read it again. I hope once you get into East of Eden you will find it goes better than expected — it can be hard having those chunksters sitting on your list for a long time.

    • Helen says:

      I don’t think Something Wicked This Way Comes sounds like my usual thing either, but I’m still looking forward to reading it. Steinbeck’s books have never sounded very appealing to me (I’ve only read one, The Pearl) but I’m hoping I’ll like East of Eden once I get into it.

      • Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

        I read Of Mice and Men in school and I distinctly remember the experience of being surprised that I actually liked it even though it was a “classic.” (I had a dim view of the literature foisted upon me by the educational system at that time.) I read The Grapes of Wrath on my own some years later and also found it highly readable. I’d like to read East of Eden at some point too — especially if you end up giving it a good review!

  3. jessicabookworm says:

    Looks like you have some great books lined up for Autumn – I will be particularly interested to hear your thoughts on Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbuary, which I enjoyed some years ago now. It’s not my favourite but it is perfectly suited to this spooky time-of-year 🙂

  4. FictionFan says:

    Conclave is a great read! Magpie Murders is next up on my own reading list – I’m really looking forward to it. If it’s as good as his take on the world of Holmes, it’ll be great. Enjoy your autumn of reading!

    • Helen says:

      I’m glad you liked A Room of One’s Own. I’ve had mixed experiences with Virginia Woolf’s books so far. And yes, the covers of Karen Maitland’s books are great!

  5. Judy Krueger says:

    I too have not usually enjoyed Virginia Woolf but A Room of One’s Own I found brilliant. East of Eden is one of my favorite Steinbeck books. It is somewhat dense and long but full of truth and includes a truly psychopathic woman.

  6. ecn says:

    East of Eden is a great book and I generally dislike Steinbeck (bad experience with the Red Pony). The movie is worth seeing after reading the book as well. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      I haven’t read any Steinbeck apart from The Pearl when I was at school and I think that put me off reading more. I’m happy to give him another chance, though, and I’ll be interested to see what I think of East of Eden. I’m looking forward to reading Something Wicked This Way Comes and hope I won’t be too terrified!

  7. Lark says:

    So many good books to choose from! East of Eden is one of the classics I really want to read…but at the same time I keep putting it off. I’m not sure why. And the Agatha Christie I’m hoping to read this autumn is Murder on the Orient Express. Happy Reading!

    • Helen says:

      Thanks! I’ve been putting off reading East of Eden for years, so I’m determined to read it in the next few months. I haven’t read Murder on the Orient Express yet, but I will eventually!

  8. Maggie says:

    I included a Steinbeck novel on my list too this week – The Grapes of Wrath! I adore Of Mice and Men, although it makes me cry! Happy Tuesday and happy reading! 😀

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

