Classics Spin #14: My list

The Classics Club

I’ve been wondering when there would be another Classics Club Spin – it seems a long time since the last one – so I was pleased to see that Spin #14 has just been announced!

Here are the rules, if you need a reminder:

* List any twenty books you have left to read from your Classics Club list.
* Number them from 1 to 20.
* On Monday the Classics Club will announce a number.
* This is the book you need to read by 1st December 2016

And here is my list:

As I only have 15 books left to read for the Classics Club, I’ve had to list some of them twice. I haven’t included East of Eden (because I’ve already committed to reading that one this autumn) or my re-read of The Count of Monte Cristo (because it’s one of my favourite books and I thought it would be nice to save it until last). Of the others, I really don’t mind which one is chosen for me!

~

1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë (re-read)
2. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
3. The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas
4. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (re-read)
5. Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne du Maurier
6. Howards End by E.M. Forster
7. I, Claudius by Robert Graves
8. The Woodlanders by Thomas Hardy
9. Lost Horizon by James Hilton
10. The Red House Mystery by A.A. Milne
11. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym
12. The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa
13. The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham
14. The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas
15. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
16. Frenchman’s Creek by Daphne du Maurier
17. I, Claudius by Robert Graves
18. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë (re-read)
19. The Leopard by Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa
20. Excellent Women by Barbara Pym

~

Which numbers do you think I should be hoping for? Are you taking part in the Spin this time?

17 thoughts on “Classics Spin #14: My list”

    1. I would be happy with any of them, I think. I’m particularly hoping for The Man in the Iron Mask so I can finish the Musketeers series, or maybe Frenchman’s Creek, which is one of the only du Maurier novels I still haven’t read.

      1. Frenchman’s Creek is not my favorite Du Maurier, but she is usually good, regardless. I think the heroine does really resemble Du Maurier herself, though, at least based on the biography I read.

  1. Great list. I have read many of them and you will be happy with any number, I assure you. If Shakespeare plays are considered classics, I can say that I will be reading The Tempest in preparation for reading Margaret Atwood’s addition to the Hogarth Shakespeare project, Hagseed, which is her retelling of that play.

    1. I think Shakespeare’s plays can definitely be considered classics! Hagseed sounds great – I have read The Tempest and would love to see how Margaret Atwood retells it.

  2. I’m not taking part in the Spin this time, because of other commitments, but I always enjoy seeing what everyone else gets. You have a lot of great choices here so I think you’ll do well whatever happens. I’m least familiar with The Leopard although I see that on many lists – should check it out.

    1. I’ve seen a lot of positive reviews of The Leopard so I’m really looking forward to reading it. There’s nothing on my spin list that I’m dreading this time. 🙂

  3. I hope you get either Excellent Women or Rebecca (which is full of women who are not really excellent) — both are on my list of favorites. I did have Man in the Iron Mask on my own list but I realized I hadn’t read any of the novels after The Three Musketeers, so I’ve replaced it with The Black Tulip. Good luck on the spin!

    1. Rebecca is one of my favourites too – it’s been years since I last read it, so I would love to get that one. I’m also hoping for The Man in the Iron Mask as I’ve been slowly working through the whole Musketeers series over the last few years and would like to finish it.

  4. This is my first spin so I’m excited to see what I get. Your list has a nice variety – loads of us seem to have Rebecca in there, and though it’s not on my spin list, The Day of the Triffids is on my main CC list as a re-read. Otherwise the Forster or the Hardy would be my picks. Good luck – hope you get one you enjoy! 🙂

    1. The Forster and Hardy books wouldn’t be my first choices, but I would still be quite happy if I got either of those! The Day of the Triffids would be a good result too. 🙂 Good luck on Monday!

  5. I read I, Claudius years ago and loved it – if I had time I’d re-read it. So, I’d look forward to that if I were you. I loved Frenchman’s Creek when I was a teenager, but when I thought I’d re-read it a couple of years ago it didn’t appeal any more, whereas I still love Rebecca!

Please leave a comment. Thanks!

